We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grasmere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$175
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
814
38
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
38
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrob antonlake districtshelley roomco ownernew ownersprevious hotelhigh standardnothing is too much troublefront of housedining roompre dinner drinkson arrivalowners and staffunderfloor heatinglovely gardenexcellent hotelcourse dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

You will not be disappointed this hotel is first class on every level. The food is amazing. Rob is great guy and a true professional. Anton the chef is world class.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

my wife and myself have just had another great stay everything was first class .the hotel staff and the new owners made us both very welcome.The food prepaired and presented by ANTON was excellent as we are both vegetarians we were invited to discuss any food requirements.We have booked again for a stay later on this year.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are available if stairs are a problem
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A lovely little hotel the restaurant overlooks garden with stream and little bunnies playing on the lawn, the food is gorgeous the service is brilliant and we had a very comfortable bed. rob did come across as being a little reserved at first but as the day wore on he warmed up he did seem a nice man and the chef can cook, also a very good location and they have a free car park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We chose the Grasmere Hotel over our regular hotel in Grasmere after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

The welcome from Rob one of the owners and Barbara one of their team was excellent. We were taken into the public rooms and everything explained that we needed to know. Next we were taken to our room and again a full explanation of everything and finally we were offered tea / coffee in the lounge – a great start.

Our room was Ruskin at the front of the house and although this room will disappear in its present format during some major refurbishment later this year we felt it was of a good standard. We particularly liked the fact that they offered fresh milk to go with the coffee and tea. We liked the lovely soft white towels in the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Rob and Anton took over the hotel just 6 months ago and have made a very nice job of refurbishing the ground floor rooms. The lounge has lots of very nice comfy chairs and settees and is the place where pre dinner drinks are served and after dinner coffee. The dining room is delightful - a really elegant room with wonderful views through its floor to ceiling windows of the garden and the river which runs at the bottom of the garden. Everything still has that brand new look about it.

And now to the food. It’s no surprise that it really is excellent since Anton the chef and co-owner trained under the renowned John Tovey at the famous Miller Howe. The food not only tastes good but looks good with great presentation. We liked the fact that the evening’s menu is displayed after breakfast so if you want to look and nothing takes your fancy you are invited to talk to Anton about an alternative. No such problems for us – more what to choose from a very nice selection. Dinner starts with home made bread. There were some unusual deserts – the Gingerbread meringue and ice cream tart I can thoroughly recommend along with the Date and fig roulade filled with Jersey ice cream. Very different and so delicious. There’s a good choice on the wine list with a good range of prices.

Breakfast has a nice selection of cereals, fruits and yogurts and the cooked breakfast is very nice – quality ingredients beautifully cooked resulting in a very tasty breakfast.

We look forward to our next visit to the Grasmere Hotel which is really excellent and set to get even better when the major refurbishment to the bedrooms takes place over the winter.
We also felt it was excellent value for money especially the evening dinner which comes in much cheaper if you book the dinner bed and breakfast package. Enjoy it – we did!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed for one night on my way through on the coast to coast walk and what a great place! We were met by a member of the team who was extremely friendly and helpful. Rob and Anton took over the hotel only a few months ago and have already refurbished downstairs which is really lovely. The bedrooms are very nice as they are however will I am sure be amazing once they too have been redone. The breakfast was first class and we loved the choice of sandwiches for our packed lunch and the chance to fill our flask for our long walk the next day. The hotel is very very peaceful with a lovely garden with mallards quaking merrily next to the river, but is only 2 mins from the centre of the village. There is even a field opposite to exercise the dog. Perhaps the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It really is fabulous!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews