We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praiseforsure.”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent three night stay, the first under new owners, Rob & Anton. Was good under previous owners but the improvements so far made to the decor and that proposed for improved bedrooms much better. Food was really good, with a good variety of menus to suit our party of eight, friends for many years and inclined to boisterous conversation! Cannot fault the attitudes of all staff,from the warm welcome to a cheery goodbye. We will return.

Room Tip: Garden Room excellent for those not happy with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I have just had another wonderful stay at the Grasmere Hotel. We found the hotel most pleasing yet again, all the staff were brilliant and their attitude lead to the overall enjoyment of our stay.

The most important aspect of our stay this time was the food as we are both vegetarians Anton always consulted with us after breakfast with suggestions for our evening dinner, which turned out on every occasion to be superb.

Our hearty thanks to both Anton and Rob for a most enjoyable stay

Room Tip: there are two ground floor room for people who find stairs a problem so my tip is to always ask befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was our first stay at the Grasmere Hotel, but not our first time with the owners, Rob & Anton. We had stayed with them at a previous location they had owned in The Lakes, and we were thrilled to discover they had taken over this establishment. They run a really first rate/five-star type operation. Rob runs the place to perfection with a friendly, yet professional manner, and has a small well trained staff. Anton does the cooking, and he is absolutely superb. He trained under John Tovey, for those of you who are chef experts. Regardless, he turns out one fantastic meal right after the other—both the food itself and the presentation. My wife and I are vegetarian/vegan, and that doesn’t faze him one bit. We meet other sets of friends (from the UK)—more on that below—who are not vegetarian, and they rave about the food as well.

The hotel is located at the northern end of the charming village of Grasmere. The significance of this is that the day tourists who come to get the famous Grasmere Gingerbread or visit Dove Cottage, pretty much stay on the south end of the village, giving the place a quiet, relaxing feel. Rob & Anton took over the place in December 2011, and have already done a great job of renovating the lounge/parlor areas and the dining room. The latter overlooks a beautiful garden area out back, and beyond that the tree canopied river Rothay. Guests are welcome in the garden.

Starting next month (in November 2012) they are undertaking a major renovation and refurbishment of the guest rooms, which were well more than adequate anyway. All the guest rooms will have brand new bathrooms and the bedrooms themselves will have new furnishings and be updated and revitalized. Eliminating a couple of the smaller rooms will create three larger rooms, as part of this process. Considering the class and style with which the common areas were redone (see above), we have complete confidence that the rest of the renovations will be totally top notch. Until then, it’s very nice anyway--clean, comfortable, and looked after well.

The walking/hiking is superb in this area. There are numerous beautiful walks you can do without getting in your car and driving somewhere to start—both flat and climbs, with stunning views in all directions. We were there eight days and never took our car out once for a walk. Further, we barely scratched the range of walks we can do from there.

Thanks to the Internet, we were lucky to discover that Rob & Anton had taken over the Grasmere Hotel. We immediately contacted several other couples that we would meet with every September in The Lake District. They had all loved staying with them at their previous place, as well. All of them were, like us, thrilled at the news, and stayed there at the same time last month (September 2012) that we did. The fact that all six of us couples have already re-booked for next September speaks volumes for what I have described above. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Grasmere Hotel—it’s a 100% total winner

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runnerkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break and could not fault our stay in any way. The rooms were clean and well appointed, food was magnificent. Rob and his team were very friendly and helpful. We did not want to leave but as the lottery tickets we bought did not come up trumps we had to leave. We also look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and patient. Food quality and presentation amazing. Looking forward to going again when the rooms have been renovated. A good restful holiday, will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I say it felt like home as the staff were so genuinely friendly, and after all, as a small hotel, it feels like a home.The difference of course is that the food was amazing! I highly recommend the garlic mushroom starter, the fig and date roulade, and it's an extra special sticky toffee pudding!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We recently had the good fortune to spend 8 nights at the Grasmere Hotel. Spent our time there with friends from the UK and USA. This was our first visit to the hotel but will not be our last. Rob is excellent front of house complimented by Anton's wonderful culinary skills. Very good choice of menu enabling 'mix and match' with the recommended dishes of the day and alternatives. Staff including Barbara, John and Dominic are very pleasant and efficient. The lounges and dining room have all been refurbished and there is a planned programme to refurbish the bedrooms over the winter. There is also a lovely garden with outdoor seating. The hotel is set in a good position to explore the central fells. There is no need to drive anywhere once you are there as everything is on your doorstop. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,421 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing