We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay despite less than fantastic weather, helped by a very warm welcome from the staff and owners of The Grasmere. The lounge and dining areas are very stylish and comfortable and we enjoyed looking out over the garden whilst eating. We were in the smallest of the rooms up on the second floor and although it would be too cramped for many, it was fine for us and in any case this room is to go in the forthcoming refurbishments. The breakfast is served at 8.30am which seemed a bit on the late side for us, but is plentiful and well cooked. The one evening meal we had was really delicious, beautifully presented and also offered excellent value for money. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very pleasant, well run, hotel that is situated in a beautiful part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRochford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
516
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The owners of Grasmere really know how to run a B&B. The downstairs dining room is tastefully decorated in soft pastels with a beautiful chandelier. The view through the many windows to the green grass and flowers of the back yard just adds to the ambience. The lounge, where cocktails are served before dinner and tea and coffee after dinner, is spacious with many sofas and chairs. The breakfast was first rate with many wonderful choices. We opted for the dinner as well and I am so glad we did. Everything from the appetizer to dessert was extremely well prepared and the servers were very professional. Our room was on the first floor and had everything we needed and then some. It was very quiet too as the house sits back a bit from the road. I understand the bedrooms will be refurbished over the winter, but even as is, our room was lovely. The village of Grasmere is very pretty and do not miss the famous gingerbread store there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon on arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly an excellent start.

The downstairs was beautiful recently refurbished and done very well indeed.

The rooms were tired, however a full renovation is commencing in November and if done to the same standard as downstairs will turn this hotel into a gem of a place.

The food was amazing well presented and well executed and the price of the stay was reasonable and worth tprickling for the food alone.

Overall lovely staff,lovely area and excellent service, brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingleydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is a hotel where you know the owners intuitively know what makes for a good stay. It's touches like a welcoming greeting on arrival with a cup of tea or coffee, carrying your bags up to your room, and printing off information on local walks or things to do that mean you feel they really care.
We stayed in one of the small rooms - Beatrix - right at the top of this lovely old house. We knew the bathroom was small - and indeed it was - but you are warned about this on booking, and our host even checked with us again on arrival. The good news is there are exciting plans to remove these small bathrooms over the winter and in doing so improve the bathroom provision for the other rooms. You're surrounded by lovely scenery on all sides so I don't imagine it matters which room you stay in as far as direction for views is concerned. But, if you can cope with the stairs, I think the higher up the better.
As far as the food was concerned, the breakfasts were excellent. I'd recommend eating at least one night at the hotel as the menu and quality are very good and if you pre-pay for the four course meal when you book online it's excellent value.
Location of the hotel is good, just out of the busy village centre so away from the crowds. Ample parking at the front.
All in all a pleasant and relaxing stay and i'm keen to come back once they new owners (been there about a year now) have finished making all their improvements.

Room Tip: I'd recommend top floor for the best views as long as you're ok with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_On_The_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Perfect position in the delightful lakes town of Grasmere. Staff very attentive. Food quality was first rate with an interesting wine list. Wines priced at a sensible level also. Hotel to be closed shortly to enable total refurbishment of the bedrooms. If this is done well then the result should produce a real gem.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westdorsettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent three night stay, the first under new owners, Rob & Anton. Was good under previous owners but the improvements so far made to the decor and that proposed for improved bedrooms much better. Food was really good, with a good variety of menus to suit our party of eight, friends for many years and inclined to boisterous conversation! Cannot fault the attitudes of all staff,from the warm welcome to a cheery goodbye. We will return.

Room Tip: Garden Room excellent for those not happy with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I have just had another wonderful stay at the Grasmere Hotel. We found the hotel most pleasing yet again, all the staff were brilliant and their attitude lead to the overall enjoyment of our stay.

The most important aspect of our stay this time was the food as we are both vegetarians Anton always consulted with us after breakfast with suggestions for our evening dinner, which turned out on every occasion to be superb.

Our hearty thanks to both Anton and Rob for a most enjoyable stay

Room Tip: there are two ground floor room for people who find stairs a problem so my tip is to always ask befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing