We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just gets better and better - dank u wel Rob & Anton”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This much loved Grasmere hotel changed owners a while ago and I think we all held our breath. Rob and Anton have done a wonderful job in upgrading the rooms, and generally updating things,so tastefully done, everything is lovely and nothing is too much trouble. As for the food, it is so delicious, beautifully cooked and with lovely surprises I think I came away about half a stone heavier!

Norma Guy

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Special place for a break & complete feeling cared for. Food & service outstanding. As a place to walk, shop, let go of worries & enjoy life this is wonderful. Sit in garden, walk the fells (or easier parts) or sight see around the Lake District & its historic houses. Lots to do & then come back for a great dinner & evening. I keep returning & enjoy the company I meet there too

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doglover506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have just spent an amazing three nights at the Grasmere Hotel 24th-27th February. Rob and Anton,the owners,have performed miracles with the refurbishment of the hotel.
Everything is brand new,decor,carpets,curtains,furniture and most importantly new beds.Many hoteliers underestimate the importance of comfortable beds, but not Rob and Anton.We slept superbly. The bathrooms/showers have been completely refurbished with top quality fittings,tiles and underfloor heating.
The whole hotel is just fantastically modern and comfortable,yet in keeping with the age of the building.
Anton is the chef and his food gets nothing but praise from all the guests.It is fine dining at its best,without being pretentious,and there is a lot of choice.
Rob ,at front of house,is very organised and warm and welcoming at the same time.
All the staff set out to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible,nothing is too much trouble for them.
Congratulations to all for making this hotel the "Gem of Grasmere".I am sure Rob and Anton will very quickly reap the rewards for their efforts.
We were unsure about posting this review because everything is so good that we are certain that when other guests go, they will keep returning and there will be no room for us.
We have already booked later in the year for eleven members of our family to stay for a 70th birthday, What a gloriously effortless way to celebrate!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy2nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have always been made most welcome by Rob, Anton and the rest of his team.Nothing is ever too much trouble for them.
The food is as always out of this world, beautifully cooked and presented and a superb choice of dishes that will satisfy even the most discriminating tastes. A choice of soup made by Anton (instead of sorbet) has been added to the second course complemented by homemade bread and is a must if like me you enjoy a really thick tastey homemade soup!!, For breakfast a Cumberland Grill (including baked beans if you wish) will set you up for whatever the day throws at you be it on the mountains or sleeping it off in the hotel garden overlooking the river Rothay.
If you want any advice on available activities or walks Rob will be only too happy to advise.
The hotel has just completed an upgrade to all its bedrooms, new furniture, decor and BIG beds, the most comfortable we have ever come across in a hotel. The bathrooms have been upgraded with many made significantly larger including a huge shower area and deluge shower heads (even where fitted over the bath) supplied with lashings of hot water (NOT the usual trickle from puny electric showers). The whole area has been tastefully tiled with under floor heating and luxury fittings complete the elegant overall design.
The public areas of the hotel retain their country house feel and the location next to the village park and backing onto the river Rothay is superb. At this time of year open fires provide a welcoming ambiance to the two lounge areas.
Numerous walks are available from the hotel and Rob is happy for those of you who arrive early to leave your car so that you can go off and explore prir to checking in, just let him know your registration number before you vanish.
We can't wait to return soon to our favourite Lake District Hotel.

Room Tip: Two ground floor rooms are available if you have problems with stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice - once at short notice after an evening rock climb and then a couple of nights this February (we'd been sent a money-off voucher for the out-of-season stay).

While this hotel is a little on the higher side of what we would normally pay (we're pretty much on a budget and usually pay around £10 less pppn), it is extremely good value for money as the hotel is very comfortable and superbly equipped.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and warm - ours had a superb view down the garden to the river with all the attendant visiting birdlife etc. The beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in anywhere - you felt you were just sinking into luxury and drifted off to sleep. The hotel was lovely and warm - a must for a hill-walking trip in February in the UK! The hotel is also lovely and quiet, being set back from the road which makes even the road-facing rooms peaceful.

The staff were attentive and we were pleased to be told we could leave our car in the carpark on our leaving day while we went for our hillwalk - we were going to ask but the offer was made even before we got around to asking. As parking is very expensive indeed in Grasmere (£7 !!) this was very much appreciated.

The breakfast was about the nicest I've had anywhere - one of my perennial favourites of fresh fruit salad was available every morning and the high-quality ingredients varied so you wouldn't get bored. Also available were grapefruit segments, figs and prunes. There was a good selection of cereals and yogurts (I don't have milk so didn't have them). The cooked breakfast consisted of a good choice of ingredients and my poached eggs were beautifully done, as were the mushrooms and tomatoes (I don't eat any of the other ingredients but my friend's breakfast also looked good). There are home-made jams available alongside the potted variety too.

We will most certainly be staying at this hotel again, especially in the winter when we need warm and comfortable accommodation after our hillwalking to thaw out!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountaincoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location. This is coupled with a superb hotel that is fresh, clean and there tomeet your demands and needs. The breakfast is delicious (i was sad there wasnt any baked beans, lol, i guess this is cumbrian style) and the 3 course dinner is nice too. As for the scenary. The lake district is amazing, up until now i have not realised how beautiful some parts of England are. Lake Derwent is an absolute must. Grasmere is a fanstatic little spot. Do try Baldrys, lovely place fpr lunch. Carrot cake. Emmmmm.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We enjoyed a couple of evening meals here last year and promised ourselves that once the refurbishment was complete we would return and stay over. It was well worth the wait! The bedroom was beautiful, en-suite bathroom amazing & the bed was enormous, the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time! Rob & his team couldn't be more helpful and accommodating, and as for the food - a gastrnomnic delight...we'll definitely return again this year, hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrowangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,497 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing