We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection !!!”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
kent england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfection !!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

me and my husband never go back to the same place twice but after coming across this little gem of a hotel last year we broke our rule and have returned recently from a pleasurable 2 night stay dinner bed and breakfast.since our visit last year there have been refurbishments done and has made this little gem more perfect our room one of the ones recently refurbished was finished to pefection.
Rob & Anton and the rest of the staff provide a fantastic service and are so welcoming and happy to assist you in any way . the food is of outstanding quality words can not describe you would have to experience this for your selfs and the meeting in the lounge before dinner and relaxing afer dinner just adds to the relaxation .in a way wish i could fault this place just so it doesnt get booked up when we return hopefully in october but can not fault it at all . well done Rob &Anton you made us break our rule to never to return to a place twice im already planning the third visit

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazrickKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
526
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed for just one night on 5th February. Dinner was wonderful and the breakfast was equally impressive. The hotel is small and friendly and the rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and, of course, the surrounding scenery is simply magnificent.

This place is a real find and, in my opinion, fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

So what matters in a hotel stay? Comfort? This is a really comfortable hotel - the beds, the rooms and the beautiful lounge. Service? Superb here. We were looked after so well by everyone we came in contact with. Food? Every meal was a gastronomic experience with an interesting menu and fabulous daily suggestions at dinner. Add to this a beautiful village, walks and easy access to many of the busier parts of the Lake District. We spent 3 nights here with friends and we all loved it. My only word of warning would be to book early as the hotel was full the first week of March. It was however lovely and quiet at night.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the second floor and it did mean climbing stairs as there was no lift. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here last year and really liked it, so came back to see how things were and the simple answer is in the title of the review.
We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was excellent, good size, comfy bed, big bathroom and all top class decor.
As for the food, this was a very good standard last year but is now top class. None of your poncy nouvelle cuisine or simply stodge but fresh, tasty wholesome food that justbhits the spot. why would you eat anywhere else?
The owners set out to give you an unforgetable stay without being in your face.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport on Severn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Another fabulous weekend spent at the Grasmere, every time we visit this hotel it gets better
and better, All the bedrooms have now been completely refurbished extremely comfortable King size or Super King beds, new modern furniture makes the rooms more spacious and large bathrooms to die for..Antons cuisine as usual was superb and Rob always greets you with a very warm welcome making you feel instantly at home, all their staff are friendly and very efficient. Our next visit in April can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill and Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We called in one day to book the following night and were given lots of good information on available walks in the area. They even printed a route for us to use the following day and advised that we could park in the hotels car park while on the walk - great service.
The hotel has recently been closed to allow for a complete revamp of the rooms which if ours is anything to go by has been a success. We had a very minor weeping of water from the heated towel rail in the bathroom which the owner thanked us for bringing to his attention. In fairness minor issues such as this are to be expected after such a level of work and I have no doubt that it will be fixed before this review goes on line.
The real high point of our stay was the evening meal which was exceptionally good value for four excellent courses. We have eaten at a number of michelin starred restaurants and both agree that the quality of the meal was on par - well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSG
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This much loved Grasmere hotel changed owners a while ago and I think we all held our breath. Rob and Anton have done a wonderful job in upgrading the rooms, and generally updating things,so tastefully done, everything is lovely and nothing is too much trouble. As for the food, it is so delicious, beautifully cooked and with lovely surprises I think I came away about half a stone heavier!

Norma Guy

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing