We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have been a regular visitor to the Grasmere Hotel for a number of years, initially under previous ownership, and the experience just gets better and better. Rob and Anton have been in the hotel long enough now to really make their mark and to their eternal credit they have given it the real "wow factor" in every respect.

The room in which we stayed (Wordsworth) has been recently redecorated and refurnished to a very high standard and offered us total relaxation with a bed as comfortable as it was huge.

Anton's dinner menu is amazing - four wonderful courses imaginatively prepared and presented. The breakfasts are excellent too and really set you up for whatever the day holds.
Above all, the staff are extremely courteous and attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them.

All in all, this was a truly fantastic experience in a part of the world which is a favourite of mine - less than ninety minutes drive from home but it could have been on the other side of the planet.

In short, if you want to experience luxury accommodation, first class dining and total relaxation, I can think of no finer place than the Grasmere Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevetheman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
526
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We chose this hotel to celebrate my sisters birthday and booked the the two single rooms Southey & Herries. We were both pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms which have been recently refurbished and also included the upgrade of the ensuites which we gather has been completed throughout all of the rooms in this welcoming hotel.

The food and service is excellent and the hard work that Rob, Anton and the team put into this hotel ensure guests have a superb time. The added bonus was the weather which was glorious, yes even in March it was bright and sunny throughout our stay and the added touch of organising a Birthday cake by Rob was thoughtful and much appreciated.

Like many of their guests we plan to return and would highly recommend anyone to try the Grasmere Hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

me and my husband never go back to the same place twice but after coming across this little gem of a hotel last year we broke our rule and have returned recently from a pleasurable 2 night stay dinner bed and breakfast.since our visit last year there have been refurbishments done and has made this little gem more perfect our room one of the ones recently refurbished was finished to pefection.
Rob & Anton and the rest of the staff provide a fantastic service and are so welcoming and happy to assist you in any way . the food is of outstanding quality words can not describe you would have to experience this for your selfs and the meeting in the lounge before dinner and relaxing afer dinner just adds to the relaxation .in a way wish i could fault this place just so it doesnt get booked up when we return hopefully in october but can not fault it at all . well done Rob &Anton you made us break our rule to never to return to a place twice im already planning the third visit

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazrickKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed for just one night on 5th February. Dinner was wonderful and the breakfast was equally impressive. The hotel is small and friendly and the rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and, of course, the surrounding scenery is simply magnificent.

This place is a real find and, in my opinion, fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

So what matters in a hotel stay? Comfort? This is a really comfortable hotel - the beds, the rooms and the beautiful lounge. Service? Superb here. We were looked after so well by everyone we came in contact with. Food? Every meal was a gastronomic experience with an interesting menu and fabulous daily suggestions at dinner. Add to this a beautiful village, walks and easy access to many of the busier parts of the Lake District. We spent 3 nights here with friends and we all loved it. My only word of warning would be to book early as the hotel was full the first week of March. It was however lovely and quiet at night.

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the second floor and it did mean climbing stairs as there was no lift. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here last year and really liked it, so came back to see how things were and the simple answer is in the title of the review.
We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was excellent, good size, comfy bed, big bathroom and all top class decor.
As for the food, this was a very good standard last year but is now top class. None of your poncy nouvelle cuisine or simply stodge but fresh, tasty wholesome food that justbhits the spot. why would you eat anywhere else?
The owners set out to give you an unforgetable stay without being in your face.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport on Severn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Another fabulous weekend spent at the Grasmere, every time we visit this hotel it gets better
and better, All the bedrooms have now been completely refurbished extremely comfortable King size or Super King beds, new modern furniture makes the rooms more spacious and large bathrooms to die for..Antons cuisine as usual was superb and Rob always greets you with a very warm welcome making you feel instantly at home, all their staff are friendly and very efficient. Our next visit in April can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill and Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,191 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing