We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in superb hotel”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in the Lakes. You couldn't ask for more at The Grasmere Hotel. The rooms are superb, immaculately clean and trendy in a sympathetic way. The food is great and Rob and his team make you feel welcomed and relaxed. They even put our walking boots in their boiler room to dry off. The sweetest thing of all was having a chocolate bunny under our teacup at breakfast. It's this attention to detail and thoughtfulness make a big difference. Would definitely recommend and we will be back. One last but not least thing is the food, both dinner and breakfast were great - can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Beatrix room is spacious with power shower and sunny in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned from a short break , the hotel and food were superb. Rooms recently refurbished were of an excellent standard and the underfloor heating was a welcome relief from the temperatures outside.
We will be returning later in the year without a doubt.

Room Tip: The Dequincy room we had was very roomy at the top of the hotel and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the Grasemere Hotel last week ( a lull between The storm on the weather front), We have stayed there lots of times last year but over the winter they have invested in the rooms and bathrooms , and we must say have done a first class job. the rooms and the hotel look stunning.

Rob and his team were as welcoming as ever, and you couldn't wish for better presented and quality of food and service. The lounge is a warm welcoming area where you can exchange your thoughts of your days spent walking in and around the Grasemere area with other like minded people.

It is a pleasure to go to an Hotel where they remember you and appreciated you as both a friend as well as a customer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel look onto the river, rooms at the front look at the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just returned from a brilliant five night break. Since our last trip, the hotel has undergone a huge refurbishment programme. No expense has been spared, rooms are much bigger, they are equipped with sumptious bathrooms with underfloor heating and superb double showers. The interior design is very tasteful, new memory foam beds have been installed. If Grasmere wasn't so beautiful you wouldn't want to leave this luxurious, but comfortable hotel. Rob is a marvellous host, nothing is too much trouble, Anton's meals are "to die for" - after each meal I say "that's my favourite!" The menus provide lots of choice and the desserts - sticky toffee pud, Grasmere gingerbread ice cream tart, apple and rhubarb crumble and many more are delicious! Also can't forget the brilliant staff, John, Barbara, Dominic, and the staff behind the scenes - who all beaver away to make your stay with them so special. Lovely, friendly owners, welcoming, helpful staff,
superb food and wine, comfortable warm surroundings and a beautiful location make this hotel a treat not to be missed - be warned!! Ann and Eric Ridley, Seaton Carew, Hartlepool.

Room Tip: All rooms superb - rooms at the rear look onto the lovely garden, river and fells. Rooms at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights mid-week in March.

As recent reviews; all the bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished to a high standard.

Great hosts, excellent well-presented food at dinner and breakfast, good location for the village and access to walks.

We would definitely return. Couldn’t fault it, and it's very, very rare that I give anything all five dots, as you can see from my other reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A really excellent place to stay - the rooms are clean and well appointed - also warm and cosy. The food is excellent and there is something new every night. The staff are pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is well placed for the local walks: meaning that you do not have to use the car. Wet walking gear is kept in the drying room. We will most certainly return.
Jean M.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay in the Grasmere Hotel and can't wait to return. All the staff are helpful, courteous and friendly. Rob is always on hand for a chat or advice on where to go and what to see in Grasmere and beyond, and Anton provides the most delicious and varied menu to tempt you each day. You are welcomed into the cosy lounge with a pot of tea or coffee to be enjoyed in front of a log fire and from that moment on feel cosseted and spoiled - just as a good holiday should begin! The rooms are all a comfortable mix of traditional and contemporary, with great bathrooms and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. All in all a five star experience in a wonderful Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing