We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pat and John Rhodes”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pat and John Rhodes”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just spent four days at the Hotel . All the staff were very helpful Rob and Anton were wonderful hosts Cuisine was second to none , both in quality and presentation The rooms were very comfortable ,well furnished We have spent time in the Lakes for the past eight years three of them actually in Grasmere but this Hotel is top of our list We will be returning Thanks to you all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
526
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from second visit, and loved it. The refurbishment is stunning and the rooms are very comfortable tasteful and clean. I stayed at the Grasmere with my parents and we were made very welcome by all the staff, nothing was too much, the whole team is wonderful. The food is exceptional, a real treat. A lovely place to stay, we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a great time staying at this charming small hotel as a group of four friends from Australia. The host gave us some detailed and great advice for seeing the best of the Lake District, as well as serving us coffee on our arrival in the beautiful garden on the bank of the river behind the hotel. It was such brilliant value in terms of the accommodation with us of the very nicely decorated guests sitting room and adjacent room with bar service. The sunny dining room serving a great full English breakfast all included in the price. Also availability of excellent dinner for guests at very reasonable price - we didn't get the chance to have this but were very sorry not to have once we had seen the menu and spoken to other guests. Many of which have followed the host from his previous hotel!

Room Tip: The Beatrix room was lovely or go for rooms overlooking the river. All have names rather than number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Beautifully refurbished and in a lovely setting, within Grasmere village. We simply could not fault it, everything is perfect. Rob and Anton are fantastic hosts and their staff are wonderful too. The food is excellent, as good as any 5 start restaurant, Anton is a fantastic chef. The whole stay was wonderful and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The overall standard of the hotel was very good and our recently refurbished room was particularly high. The quality of the food was exceptional and the preferential rate for guests so attractive that we ate in every night. And the service was equally good!

The hotel contributed to what was a memorable visit to the Lake District and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

Roger & Jo Cornick

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This is a not to be missed opportunity....not only to visit an idyllic location in the Lake District.....but more importantly to stay in 5 star accommodation. The house is beautifully decorated...with all rooms recently refurbished to a very high standard. We stayed in two deluxe rooms....The Beatrix and The De Quincey, both large with luxurious bathrooms. The dinning room overlooks the garden which offers a peaceful retreat at the end of a satisfying but normally tiring day. The standard of food was without exception some of the best we have ever tasted and served by staff who were always polite, happy and helpful. This was our first visit and before we left we had already decided it would not be our last.....so booked yet another short break in September! Thank you to Rob, Anton and all your staff who made this an extra special treat for all of us.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thekerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Yet another two lovely days at the Grasemere hotel ,good food , good company, great place to stay.
Rob and his team are maintaining the perfect refurbishment levels that happened over the winter months ,which is good to see this , as many other revamps at other hotels tend to let standard slip once they are completed . well done keep it ;
, we are looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing