We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, Amazing weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, Amazing weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in the hotel together with 3 other couples. We made a mistake. We ate at the hotel only one evening. We really should have eaten there EVERY night. Te food was just top draw.

The hotel was very well appointed and comfortable and the staff could not do enough. In all it was a near perfect break.

We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
516
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just home today stayed from Friday 14th June till Monday 17th and had a great stay. The rooms were great clean and fab showers. Food Great and all staff friendly and helpful could not ask for more. This was our second stay. We stayed 1 night last year and all we can say it is every bit as good as it was if not more so. So well done to Rob and Anton for a relaxing stay. Thank you all we will be back again.
Iris & Eddie Farmer

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just spent four days at the Hotel . All the staff were very helpful Rob and Anton were wonderful hosts Cuisine was second to none , both in quality and presentation The rooms were very comfortable ,well furnished We have spent time in the Lakes for the past eight years three of them actually in Grasmere but this Hotel is top of our list We will be returning Thanks to you all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from second visit, and loved it. The refurbishment is stunning and the rooms are very comfortable tasteful and clean. I stayed at the Grasmere with my parents and we were made very welcome by all the staff, nothing was too much, the whole team is wonderful. The food is exceptional, a real treat. A lovely place to stay, we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a great time staying at this charming small hotel as a group of four friends from Australia. The host gave us some detailed and great advice for seeing the best of the Lake District, as well as serving us coffee on our arrival in the beautiful garden on the bank of the river behind the hotel. It was such brilliant value in terms of the accommodation with us of the very nicely decorated guests sitting room and adjacent room with bar service. The sunny dining room serving a great full English breakfast all included in the price. Also availability of excellent dinner for guests at very reasonable price - we didn't get the chance to have this but were very sorry not to have once we had seen the menu and spoken to other guests. Many of which have followed the host from his previous hotel!

Room Tip: The Beatrix room was lovely or go for rooms overlooking the river. All have names rather than number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Beautifully refurbished and in a lovely setting, within Grasmere village. We simply could not fault it, everything is perfect. Rob and Anton are fantastic hosts and their staff are wonderful too. The food is excellent, as good as any 5 start restaurant, Anton is a fantastic chef. The whole stay was wonderful and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The overall standard of the hotel was very good and our recently refurbished room was particularly high. The quality of the food was exceptional and the preferential rate for guests so attractive that we ate in every night. And the service was equally good!

The hotel contributed to what was a memorable visit to the Lake District and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

Roger & Jo Cornick

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing