We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned, stayed 14th to 16th June 2013. Had a wonderful stay with excellent customer service from all the staff . Assistance with my aged parents was excellent including catering for special dietary needs,food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms superbly appointed, clean and room, with brilliant showers.
A wonderful stay and will certainly stay again. Thanks to Rob, Anton and all staff for making us welcome.

Room Tip: De Quincy large and spacious, on the second floor, with an excellent en-suite. Wordsworth good roo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandKsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in the hotel together with 3 other couples. We made a mistake. We ate at the hotel only one evening. We really should have eaten there EVERY night. Te food was just top draw.

The hotel was very well appointed and comfortable and the staff could not do enough. In all it was a near perfect break.

We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just home today stayed from Friday 14th June till Monday 17th and had a great stay. The rooms were great clean and fab showers. Food Great and all staff friendly and helpful could not ask for more. This was our second stay. We stayed 1 night last year and all we can say it is every bit as good as it was if not more so. So well done to Rob and Anton for a relaxing stay. Thank you all we will be back again.
Iris & Eddie Farmer

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just spent four days at the Hotel . All the staff were very helpful Rob and Anton were wonderful hosts Cuisine was second to none , both in quality and presentation The rooms were very comfortable ,well furnished We have spent time in the Lakes for the past eight years three of them actually in Grasmere but this Hotel is top of our list We will be returning Thanks to you all

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from second visit, and loved it. The refurbishment is stunning and the rooms are very comfortable tasteful and clean. I stayed at the Grasmere with my parents and we were made very welcome by all the staff, nothing was too much, the whole team is wonderful. The food is exceptional, a real treat. A lovely place to stay, we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a great time staying at this charming small hotel as a group of four friends from Australia. The host gave us some detailed and great advice for seeing the best of the Lake District, as well as serving us coffee on our arrival in the beautiful garden on the bank of the river behind the hotel. It was such brilliant value in terms of the accommodation with us of the very nicely decorated guests sitting room and adjacent room with bar service. The sunny dining room serving a great full English breakfast all included in the price. Also availability of excellent dinner for guests at very reasonable price - we didn't get the chance to have this but were very sorry not to have once we had seen the menu and spoken to other guests. Many of which have followed the host from his previous hotel!

Room Tip: The Beatrix room was lovely or go for rooms overlooking the river. All have names rather than number...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Beautifully refurbished and in a lovely setting, within Grasmere village. We simply could not fault it, everything is perfect. Rob and Anton are fantastic hosts and their staff are wonderful too. The food is excellent, as good as any 5 start restaurant, Anton is a fantastic chef. The whole stay was wonderful and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing