We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Top marks for a top hotel"”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Top marks for a top hotel"”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Probably the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time.Rob made us very welcome and was very attentive throughout our stay along with his fantastic staff and especially Anton fior some fine dining and wonderful breakfasts.
Drinks were very reasonably priced and a wide range to choose from.
Many thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toproofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
530
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Every thing first class from the manager,staff,room (immaculate) & food (the sea bass is a most)
Hotel is in a ideal position with a beautiful garden running down to the river.
Will certainly be back when visiting the Lake District again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_H190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I selected this hotel for my husband and myself having read other Tripadvisor reviews. I am glad that we did as the hotel is wonderful. Superlatives can't do it justice....but here goes.
We have stayed in Grasmere a few times and it is the nicest village in the Lakes, as far as I am concerned, because it has so many interesting walks right on its doorstep. Plus it has the seal of approval from William Wordsworth and other great poets. Then there is the Grasmere gingerbread shop which sells reasonably priced biscuits. In addition there is the recently opened National Trust house at Allen Bank which is another place where Wordsworth lived for a period in Grasmere. So lots to see and do and walk.
We arrived early morning and the co-owner, Rob, allowed us to park even though our room would not be ready until 3. We had booked Coleridge, a superior double room on the first floor. All of the rooms have had a good deal of investment since the owners, Rob and his partner Anton (the best chef ever!) took charge of the hotel - although it feels more like a country house. When we returned we were really pleased with our room -we had a problem with the shower drainage being very slow but this is to be rectified next month and it didn't impact on our enjoyment of a sumptuous shower room. The room faced the road but was extremely quiet, even with the window wide open during the heatwave. All we could hear was birdsong and all we could see were fells and trees - a real getaway from the daily grind!
the 2 lounges were tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the Garden was beautiful. Enough tables for the residents (9 double rooms and 2 singles) with comfy cushions. The secluded garden leads down to the river Rothay and is delightful in every way.
We were treated to a welcoming pot of coffee served in the garden on arrival, after depositing our luggage.
The staff are extremely solicitous and caring, but not in a bad way. Just all seem genuinely concerned to help you have a good stay. Any problems and they will all do their best to help and sort out.
The food is soooo delicious. I have tasted some good food in my time but Anton's cheffing surpasses it all. It's tasty, refined, beautifully presented, creative and just well done. Both evening meals were of excellent quality
The bed was very comfortable and the shower room was full of Bath House products - Bamboo flavour - which I've never come across before, but which we both really liked. (I must check them out on the Net)
Breakfasts were amazing. Homemade muesli, jams and marmalade - the marmalade was scrumptious.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough ( though I shouldn't because I want to be able to go back there soon and not find it too fully booked!!)
The reason for it being Number 1 in Grasmere is self evident and I'm so glad that I've found it because we will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Coleridge was delightful and after August the slight problem with the water drainage from the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann1eM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed 1 night on C2C walk and everything excellent from manager, staff, room, bathroom and food. Cannot fault! Very modern, immaculate and the sea bass was excellent!
If staying in this area, a stop here is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It is rare to see so many satisfied comments, but our four night stay justified all of them. Our room was first-class, the lounge was comfortable and the garden had a fine lawn reaching down to the river. Add to these facilities the superb food and the attentive service, and you have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The Wordsworth room is on the ground floor and has its own access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in the lake district over the years and generally they were very good, but the Grasmere Hotel must rank at the very top. Our room (Beatrix) was spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable with a firm bed, and superb walk in shower. Dinner and breakfast on both days were excellent in terms of choice, quality and presentation. Service was friendly and professional. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K72_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in Grasmere for five nights from Sunday 21st June. This was our third visit and the first under the new ownership. We were not disappointed with the changes and improvements. The room in which we stayed was beautifully decorated and all the furniture including the bed was new. In fact, our fabulously spacious bathroom was actually half of the bedroom in which we had previously stayed!
The hotel still has the same friendly feel to it and the quality and variety of food in the evening is just superb. Staying half board allowed us to taste the chef’s recommendations almost every night and the variety and quality were top class. The service, too, in the restaurant is excellent.
The hotel is ideally situated for both serious and casual walkers given the variety of places to visit in the immediate vicinity.
We would like to congratulate Rob and Anton on the job which they have done. The refurbishments have been tastefully carried out and their hotel must now rank as one of the best in the village. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ruskin is a superb double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardtwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,203 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing