We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Along with 2 friends we have recently stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we entered we felt welcomed and relaxed and this feeling remained with us throughout the stay.Rob, Anton and staff looked after our every need, the cleanliness and decor of the rooms was top class and the food amazing.we were lucky to have good weather and made use of the beautiful garden. The village is within walking distance ideal for an after dinner stroll and we will definately be visiting again.
The Porters

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
516
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in the Grasmere Hotel on three occasions with the last being in 2010. We stopped staying there like many others because the service & standards had deteriorated to an unacceptable level. As a result we have now stayed in most of the other Grasmere hotels which are excellent however, when we saw that the Grasmere Hotel had won an award in 2013 from TripAdvisor we looked at the hotels' website & were delighted to see that it had been taken over by Rob & Anton & their team. When we read the fantastic reviews on TripAdvisor we just had to stay there. We booked a five night stay ending on 24 July 2013 & from our very warm welcome to our departure we simply had the best stay ever in a Grasmere hotel. Rob & Anton want all their guests to feel like they are staying in their home & it did, nothing was too much trouble. As a member of the Hotel, Catering, & International Management Association, a teacher of Hospitality Management & a former manager within the Hilton Hotels group I fully endorse this hotel. The rooms are newly refurbished to a fantastic standard with the beds being so comfortable & the bathrooms luxurious. The gardens are superbly maintained with the public areas much more inviting & tastefully decorated. My partner has a gluten free diet & she was not made to feel different or awkward in the restaurant & again the hotel had plenty of choice at meal times. From experience of other hotels if they remember you might get gluten free toast however when it comes to soups & sauces you usually go without. Anton provided a whole range of foods at meal times & made up gluten free sauces to fulfil the menu options. The presentation of the food would warrant the highest award & best of all the standards are consistently excellent. The standard of service from his team exceeded our exacting expectations, we really have found our Utopia. I just wish we could have stayed for longer, we did not want to leave & this was the opinion of so many other guests. Never before have we felt so relaxed & refreshed after a holiday. Don't take our word for it read the reviews on TripAdvisor & try it out for yourselves...! Many many thanks to Rob & Anton & their team for having the vision to take this beautiful hotel to the number one hotel in Grasmere through their hard work & determination. Sarah & Chris :-)

Room Tip: If you have a dog there are three fantastic dog friendly rooms to choose from:- Walpole, Dorothy &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from a short 2 night break at this fabulous Lakeland hotel in the pretty village of Grasmere. What can we say? Rob and Anton have almost discovered perfection. From Rob the highly attentive front of house who looked after our ever need and Anton who is an amazing chef who cooked his way into our hearts. This little hotel with its newly refurbished rooms, fantastic food, delightful garden and super service is an absolute must visit to all of those who appreciate fine dining in a relaxed surrounding without the stiffness. Rob is a truly fantastic host, he made us feel that welcome in the short time we were there that it felt like a home from home. Throw in the best village location in the Lakes and you have the perfect recipe for an outstanding and relaxing stay. Cannot wait to return in the near future, Many Thanks to you both and your team, Keith & Angie xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at Grasmere Hotel. It was our first visit to this hotel but we have stayed at the owners' previous hotel several times. We were not disappointed. It is really handy for a stroll into the village and the hotel itself has been beautifully refurbished In every way. The garden is lovely with plenty of tables, chairs etc where we could enjoy the sunshine. The breakfasts are delicious and we had dinner there both nights because we know, from our previous visits, how good the meals are.
We will definitely go back again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Probably the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time.Rob made us very welcome and was very attentive throughout our stay along with his fantastic staff and especially Anton fior some fine dining and wonderful breakfasts.
Drinks were very reasonably priced and a wide range to choose from.
Many thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toproofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Every thing first class from the manager,staff,room (immaculate) & food (the sea bass is a most)
Hotel is in a ideal position with a beautiful garden running down to the river.
Will certainly be back when visiting the Lake District again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_H190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I selected this hotel for my husband and myself having read other Tripadvisor reviews. I am glad that we did as the hotel is wonderful. Superlatives can't do it justice....but here goes.
We have stayed in Grasmere a few times and it is the nicest village in the Lakes, as far as I am concerned, because it has so many interesting walks right on its doorstep. Plus it has the seal of approval from William Wordsworth and other great poets. Then there is the Grasmere gingerbread shop which sells reasonably priced biscuits. In addition there is the recently opened National Trust house at Allen Bank which is another place where Wordsworth lived for a period in Grasmere. So lots to see and do and walk.
We arrived early morning and the co-owner, Rob, allowed us to park even though our room would not be ready until 3. We had booked Coleridge, a superior double room on the first floor. All of the rooms have had a good deal of investment since the owners, Rob and his partner Anton (the best chef ever!) took charge of the hotel - although it feels more like a country house. When we returned we were really pleased with our room -we had a problem with the shower drainage being very slow but this is to be rectified next month and it didn't impact on our enjoyment of a sumptuous shower room. The room faced the road but was extremely quiet, even with the window wide open during the heatwave. All we could hear was birdsong and all we could see were fells and trees - a real getaway from the daily grind!
the 2 lounges were tastefully decorated and very comfortable and the Garden was beautiful. Enough tables for the residents (9 double rooms and 2 singles) with comfy cushions. The secluded garden leads down to the river Rothay and is delightful in every way.
We were treated to a welcoming pot of coffee served in the garden on arrival, after depositing our luggage.
The staff are extremely solicitous and caring, but not in a bad way. Just all seem genuinely concerned to help you have a good stay. Any problems and they will all do their best to help and sort out.
The food is soooo delicious. I have tasted some good food in my time but Anton's cheffing surpasses it all. It's tasty, refined, beautifully presented, creative and just well done. Both evening meals were of excellent quality
The bed was very comfortable and the shower room was full of Bath House products - Bamboo flavour - which I've never come across before, but which we both really liked. (I must check them out on the Net)
Breakfasts were amazing. Homemade muesli, jams and marmalade - the marmalade was scrumptious.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough ( though I shouldn't because I want to be able to go back there soon and not find it too fully booked!!)
The reason for it being Number 1 in Grasmere is self evident and I'm so glad that I've found it because we will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Coleridge was delightful and after August the slight problem with the water drainage from the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann1eM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing