We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grasmere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
822
38
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
38
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrob antonlake districtshelley roomco ownernew ownersprevious hotelhigh standardnothing is too much troublefront of housedining roompre dinner drinkson arrivalowners and staffunderfloor heatinglovely gardenexcellent hotelcourse dinner
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Found this hotel when searching for somewhere to stay in Grasmere and it didn't disappoint. At the time of booking, the owners were about to start refurbishing the bedrooms and they certainly did a great job; stylish quality bathrooms and tastefully designed and upholstered rooms. It's a small hotel with excellent personal service by Rob, superb cuisine with lots of choice. Nice lounge for pre-dinner drinks and post-dinner coffee. Dogs very welcome too at very nominal fee. Almost right in centre of this lovely village with lovely rear garden where we sat and enjoyed the sun. Very accommodating; my daughter skipped a main course one evening as she wasn't that hungry and Rob asked us if there was anything she particularly liked that they could cook for her next day. Had my birthday there and that evening a home baked cake arrived with candles, and I'd only dropped it in passing that it was my birthday. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Its VERY rare to stay somewhere and be overwhelmed (in a good way) on arrival, rather than being underwhelmed. My "bible" Trip Advisor didn't let us down and The Grasmere is on our "top two list" having stayed at many hotels and b and b's in France, Italy and the UK over the past 5 weeks. From the welcome coffee and bikkies that Rob served us in the garden (with a resident CUTE wild bunny bouncing around) to the impeccable rooms and amazing FIRST CLASS service that Rob and his fab team provided, along with the LOVELY, amazing value for money meals that Anton and his team cooked for us. Why dine out when you have it all on your doorstep. We loved the way that we could relax in the lounge before and after meals as this broke the ice and we got to chat with other guests, which we normally are a bit shy to do. Rob and the team also genuinely care about whether everything is just perfect when you stay with them. We felt so at home. After "surfing' Trip Advisor for the best place to stay in the whole of the Lakes District I am pleased to say that I definitely booked into and my husband and I have just stayed in an amazing place.

Room Tip: We had the Shelley Room - a lovely view of the garden, very quiet, lots of stairs if you have heavy luggage but Rob offered to assist so no problems there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Glad I picked this hotel! It has a great location next to the river with a lovely quiet garden to sit in. It is easy to find on the main street through Grasmere, and there is a lovely welcome from Rob. The whole hotel team are friendly and efficient and made sure there were fans available in the rooms to help beat the heat!

I took advantage of a '5 nights for the price of 4' deal and I am glad I spent the extra time. Anton is an extraordinary chef and every breakfast and dinner was fantastic with lots of choice to suit tastes and dietary requirements. A great base to explore the Lakes and a lovely place to return back to after a day of walking or sightseeing. Will be back... Thank you!

Room Tip: Herries, on the second floor, has a lovely view of the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just got home from a couple of nights at this hotel. The location is great - just on the edge of the village, and at the start of some lovely walks. Bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable and stylish, as were the lounges and dining room. The food was very good - we ate here two nights. Can recommend the fish (between the 4 of us we had 4 lots of fish - all very good) and I was very keen on the summer pudding - had that twice! Agree with other reviews - everyone helpful and attentive, hotel very clean etc. We would definitely stay here again as a base for touring the area.

Room Tip: We were in Beatrix. On second floor, and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilkley_traveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Along with 2 friends we have recently stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we entered we felt welcomed and relaxed and this feeling remained with us throughout the stay.Rob, Anton and staff looked after our every need, the cleanliness and decor of the rooms was top class and the food amazing.we were lucky to have good weather and made use of the beautiful garden. The village is within walking distance ideal for an after dinner stroll and we will definately be visiting again.
The Porters

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews