We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel goes from strength to strength”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The hotel goes from strength to strength”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our third stay at the Grasmere Hotel and it just keeps going from strength to strength. Rob, Anton and their team make their guests very welcome, with all home comforts. Not only are the bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms first rate (even better now following their upgrade in early 2013) and the meals delicious, but the hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the area. It deserves its high rating in TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vedast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
516
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

From the tea in the garden on arrival, with gluten free (g/f) biscuits, to breakfast with g//f cereals, sausage, bread etc, to dinner, ordered in advance to ensure g/f, to coffee in the lounge with g/f chocolates what more could a Coeliac want. Well done to Rob, Anton and staff. Your attention to detail, from the food to the finishing touches in the lovely rooms made for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmja_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor results and neither my partner or I were disappointed. The room was superb with tea, coffee, toiletries etc being provided. It was serviced every day and spotlessly clean.
The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals superb.
I can't fault this hotel, the facilities it provides are excellent and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Well done to Rob and Anton and all their staff.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the De Quincy room, Very comfortable super king bed with ensuite bath/shower. Overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizpearce59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

There is very little to criticize at The Grasmere.If one had to be picky then I would have prefered the vegetables at Dinner not to have been El Dante but each to their own !
The Hotel is practically in the centre of Grasmere village and upon one's return a nice pot of tea in the rear garden is magnificent for the peace and quiet.
All in all we spent 3 nights in early September and without doubt we shall return next year to explore the wonderful Lake District.

Room Tip: When making the booking speak to Rob - one of the 2 owners - for his advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGH2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We chose this hotel for our stay in Grasmere purely on Tripadvisor rating.
And we are pleased to say that it has exceeded all expectations , well done to Anton, Rob and your wonderful staff for making our stay so pleasurable.
The hotel is stunning and tasteful, the rooms are luxurious and extremely comfortable.
We will definitely stay again !

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor overlooking the garden, very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in early August. Rob greeted us on arrival and helped with our luggage to our room on the first floor. We were in the Judith room which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The room was only small, but had all facilities you could want. A very comfortable bed, wardrobe, desk, chair etc. It also had tea and coffee facilities with a small jug.
The bathroom was lovely - modern and very clean. We especially liked the heated towel rail, which was particularly efficient.
The grounds were neatly kept and there was plenty of off street parking- a necessity in such a small village with narrow streets. The gardens at the back were very relaxing with plenty of benches and seats for people to sit and relax. You could even sit by the river!
Rob was knowledgeable concerning walks in the area and provided us with step by step maps for walks originating from Grasmere. We especially appreciated this as we didn't know the area at all and quickly discovered the beauty of the area.
Anton was outstanding in providing restaurant quality meals. In fact our dinners which we booked with our accommodation were excellent quality and exceptional value for money. They were a highlight of our stay. Breakfasts were equally tasty and served efficiently. Staff were friendly.
Adjoining the dining room was a lounge for people to have pre dinner drinks and coffee or tea after dinner. It was a pleasant way to interact with other guests who were staying at the hotel and we enjoyed the shared conversations. If you would prefer some privacy the lounge is amply sized to give you that too.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would happily return to such a friendly and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gempearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed the night of my parents wedding and had an absolutely lovely time! The staff were polite,helpful and looked after us brilliantly! We had dinner in the hotel which was fantastic and a very reasonably priced! My sister and I both had single rooms which were perfectly sized and my parents had a double which was very large! The rooms had lovely toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of tea and coffee. We collectively said as a family that we would visit again but would stay longer as the area is beautiful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing