We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aaaah! What a super place.”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Aaaah! What a super place.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Rob & Anton's hotel, but we know them well from enjoying stays at their previous hotel in Borrowdale.
What is it that makes this place so special? Attention to detail and catering for every aspect of their clients needs and wishes.
With a group of friends, we took over the hotel for 3 days and, despite the weather, had the most marvellous stay - and great walks. Our evenings were enlivened with Bridge tournaments.
We all left with that inner glow of a very pleasant stay, with good food and wine, great company and the finest staff, facilities and comfort in Grasmere.
I can say that with some certainty, having stayed in Grasmere scores of times over a fifty year period in most of the significant hotels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
520
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this delightful hotel. This was arranged by my best friend as a birthday treat, and a place she has stayed in many times. The hotel is everything one could hope for, beautiful décor, comfortable bedrooms with high spec.en suites, food of the highest quality served in a cosy dining room, staff welcoming, friendly and highly efficient. I think the Grasmere is probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in and ticks every box for a relaxing holiday. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thespianluvvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

So I think the Brits must moan and groan about the weather in the Lake District in order to keep the Yanks away. We had a beautiful day today, in late October! We went for two different hikes, one on the hills overlooking Ambleside (about an hour), and the other up the valley above Coniston (about three hours). Didn't even carry umbrellas. Might have gotten a little sun-burned. Really!

Seriously folks, it rains a lot here. We clearly had the best day of the week. However, I think the Grasmere Hotel would be one of the best places to stay, rain or shine.

It's 5:45 PM. After returning from our hikes, I left my wife in the room to rest and walked down the street for a proper pint (cask-conditioned ale). Then I returned to the hotel and took a nice hot shower and dressed for dinner. Now I'm relaxing in front of a gorgeous fire with a half-bottle of fairly decent chablis, catching up on emails. And writing this review.

The hotel is in the center of Grasmere, a very small village in the center of the Lake District. Grasmere is just to the north of Ambleside, which is to the north of Windermere. If you have a family and just can't live without the noise and bustle of civilization, stay in Windermere. I never have. I won't fault Ambleside -- I've stayed there many times and it's a nice little town -- you could do much worse. But Grasmere is a gem. It's small. There might be a single block you could drive around. Maybe. A few restaurants and pubs/bars, usually attached to small hotels and B&B's. A gingerbread shop. And good number of sheep, that seemed to stare at us as if to say, "what the hell are you doing looking at?"

The Grasmere Hotel probably has 8-10 rooms. There are about 8-10 tables in the dining room, with seating for 15-20 in the living rooms just off the dining room. Our room is on the top floor. I'm pretty sure they were full up last night, and I didn't hear a sound from any of the other guests. Dinner is served starting at 7 PM, and at about 20 pounds per person is a bargain. The food was outstanding. My lamb was so good that my wife will probably have it tonight. The wine list is very reasonable. Coffee is served after dinner back in the living rooms in front of the fire, with guests mingling and chatting.

Breakfast is served from 8:30 (earlier if you can do without the full cooked breakfast). The Full Cumbrian includes eggs, sausage, bacon (closer to ham for you Yanks), fried potato, stewed tomato, and black pudding (or blood sausage). Toast, cereal, juice, coffee, yogurt, ... get the idea? As I said before, I did two hikes today, about 4 hours total of walking in the hills. I didn't have lunch.

In conclusion, this was my first trip back to the Lake District in about 20 years. My early visits were as a student, so I know the Youth Hostels better than the B&Bs and hotels in this area. However, I give Rob & Anton two thumbs up for the Grasmere Hotel. I'm sure we could try other places, and might even be very satisfied. In fact, we probably would be -- it's a special place, clearly. But why bother? We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Room Tip: Beatrix on the 3rd floor was very quiet. The bathroom was new and very well-done. Perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have not stayed at this hotel since its refurbishment. What a good place to stay in a very nice village. The staff were excellent without exception, our room very comfortable and the proprietor very welcoming. We dined at the hotel for each of our 4 night stay and the quality of the fare on offer was invariably excellent. We will stay again but pray for a bit of sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank Kennethmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The hotel itself is clean and nicely decorated throughout, the staff were fab, the lounge area lovely and relaxing and I highly recommend eating here. There is a discount if you pre-book your meal with your reservation and I am glad we did! It was wonderful and I am a fussy eater who is hard to please!
The only down side is - we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grasmere. It is a very well run hotel where the service is excellent. All the rooms have been refurbished and are of a high standard. The food is Glorious and well presented. It did not stop raining all weekend but we knew we could still have a good weekend at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We returned to the hotel last weekend with 4 friends for a 2 night break and we were not disappointed. Since our last visit over a year ago Rob and Anton have refurbished the top floor rooms and the deluxe doubles were superbly appointed, we stayed in Di Qincy and had a very comfortable stay. The food was superb and well presented.
We all agreed that the hotel has set a very high standard and despite a very wet weekend we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, so good in fact we have booked to return in 2014.
Thanks very much Rob and Anton and your staff for a great weekend and enjoy your winter break as you all deserve it. See you next October or sooner.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing