We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We've been to the Grasemere Hotel now many times and it's still as good as our first visit, Rob Anton and their team welcome you almost as part of their family, the rooms which were revamped a while a go are standing the test of time and are stunning: the food ( the real reason why we go) is exceptional quality and value the presentation is almost a work of art , the sweets are to die for ( our only regret is that we can only have one of the varied selection) .
We often struggle to understand the clients who stay here but eat out , in our mind the quality and range is great value , in fact the house wines are also great value.so why trail out in the cold, they have everything in house.
Thanks Rob & Anton and their team keep it up;

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel. We chose a smaller room and were surprised with the high standard of decoration, comfort and cleanliness. The restaurant too provided a choice of meals that were well balanced, and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2013Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you want excellent food, very comfortable accommodation and a friendly place to stay then this is the place for you. This was our second stay in just over 12 months and we can't wait to go back next year. It is unusual to find a menu these days that after a few choices does not become very "samey" but the Grasmere does not fall into that category. We can only describe the food as 5 star quality with a very good wine list. The bedrooms have been tastefully refurbished with luxuriant bathrooms. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and clearly Rob and Anton have a winner here.

Room Tip: The "Coleridge" has a glorious view of Helm Crag
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We rated Rob and Anton's previous hotel in Borrowdale very highly, but the Grasmere is even better!
Bedrooms are modern, very well equipped and spotless. Lounges and dining room are similarly attractive and very comfortably furnished.
Anton's meals are excellent; dinner starts with canapes, then starter followed by a taster of delicious soup or sorbet. A choice of main course, then dessert. The menu includes a special each day of starter,main and dessert.
We could not fault the facilities or the meals. The breakfast kept us going all day, so many choices!
Rob and Anton are excellent hosts and have experience of running several hotels. They, and their staff have learnt what their guests like and cater for all needs, from picnics to underfloor heating! You cannot fail to enjoy a visit here ....
We give it 10 out 0f 10 for enjoyment and good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and found it consistent with ratings others had given it. Reviews of accommodation in the Lake District seem to focus entirely on the food, but having stayed and dined at the Grasmere I can perhaps see why. The restaurant's service and food were excellent, the atmosphere was great and the location perfect. The room was very cosy, but that was expected. The Grasmere provided us the perfect location for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just back from another delightful stay at this fabulous hotel. We've been here 4 times in just
5 months..! The atmosphere is so relaxing, it is a place we will return to for many years to
come... currently working on staying in all of the double rooms (So far tried out Beatrix, De-Quincey and Dorothy!) Each room has its own colour theme and style, the bathrooms are smart and have a boutique feel. The power showers are better than my home ones.

I love the welcoming and homely feeling I experience when I check in and sit beside the cosy lit fire and unwind with with tea and biscuits.

Rob who is front of house is so charming and lovely. Anton has such talent in his culinary skills. The food is simply divine with pleasing to the eye presentation. I'm gluten and dairy intolerant which make it difficult to cater for but Anton creates such appetising and comforting meals that I don't feel like I'm separate from everyone else's dining experience. I had a mushroom starter in which the sauce was so rich and memorable. The tarragon sauce I had with some roast chicken to follow was so tender and flavoursome. Mr B will state his rib eye steak with peppercorn sauce is the best he's ever eaten. Locally sourced gingerbread made the desert which was light despite its fiery flavour and was not over bearing. Perfect.

Rob, Anton and the rest of the team work extremely hard, their commitment and hospitality is second to none. The Grasmere Hotel will accumulate so many deserved awards as the seasons progress.

....We will be back again next year but shh it's our secret!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mermaid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned home from a lovely weekend in Grasmere. Couldn't have picked a better hotel, lovely room and bathroom, make sure you book in for dinner the food was fantasic and the presentation was exceptional. The superb breakfasts set us up for our daily hikes, it was a pleasure to meet the friendly staff and owners and we can't wait to return. If you are planning to visit Grasmere book this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing