We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely wee spot in the Lake District”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was thrilled when we drove into Grasmere and found the hotel as it is really well situated and quite lovely. We had a bit of a bump in the road when we tried to check in and make arrangements for dinner, but Rob stepped in and very quickly and efficiently had everything started. Everything was up hill from that moment on and I could not fault the hotel in any way! I have a small group tour company and we look for small, unique and comfortable spots around the country the make our tours special. The Grasmere filled the bill in every area and especially with food!
Everyone was thrilled with dinner and the dining room is set up very nicely with an intimate feel although we talked with a few of the couple who were also staying there and it felt very home like. I would have no problem using the hotel again or recommending to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I'll start this review by saying that we would happily have paid for the meal, what we paid for our entire stay ! This hotel is one of very few we have stayed in that actually looks like the photos on the internet. There are no clever camera angles making the place look bigger or cosier, It is big and extremely cosy. My husband and I are both over 6ft tall and the bedrooms and bathrooms in this perfect period hotel are much more than average in size, comfort and style. The food is to die for and I'm a fuss ! Perfect service, presentation and really, really good food. I'm glad it rained during our stay, it gave us the perfect opportunity to fully enjoy the atmosphere and relax in this gem of a place. See you next year and Thankyou

Room Tip: We stayed in the DeQuincy, it's huge and beautiful. It overlooks the front of the hotel but it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend mini break inbetween Christmas & New year . Could not fault a thing, a lovely well situated small hotel , we were even allowed to take our dog along . Will definately return .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wishiwasthere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stopped for the 3 night Christmas break. Could not fault anything, even the weather was okay.

Warm welcome by Rob, one of the hosts. All the staff are very welcoming. Spotless rooms, comfy beds, bathrooms with underfloor heating, power showers.

The food is excellent, Anton is a brilliant chef. Always willing to accommodate any special needs, nothing is too much trouble.

Comfy lounges, roaring fires, good food and fine wine. All in all an excellent hotel which we would highly recommend. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs47NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I booked this for a quick treat for my wife and chose this hotel based on other reviews.
I can only agree with what others have said, we received a friendly welcome and tour of the rooms when we arrived, and this attention to detail continued.
I would strongly advise you to book dinner at the same time as booking the room, because £20 is a real bargain. The food is excellent, both the evening meal and breakfast were first class.
We stayed in the Ruskin room and it was clean with a large modern bathroom, it also had a view of the hills beyond the car park and main road.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband booked a relaxing break away at my favourite hotel as a birthday treat. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The hotel is so cosy and comfortable and the staff are very welcoming also. Rob is a superb host and Anton a brilliant chef. The food was out of this world and after an enjoyable day out walking, it was lovely to return to the hotel and look forward to a sumptuous meal and a lovely bottle of wine. I can not praise this hotel enough and can highly recommend it to people who love the Lake District, good food and wine, and cosy, comfortable surroundings. Rob and Anton and their lovely staff treat all their guests like family, so much so that once you have stayed at the Grasmere, you will want to return again and again. Next time you visit the Lake District, stay at this endearing hotel, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - rooms at the back of the hotel look onto the lovely garden and at the front t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fabulous hotel, wonderful food, fantastic service, rooms are perfect. everything you could wish for in a first class country house hotel. everything on your doorstep in grasmere and beyond. what a great find will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank donkeyhat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing