We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Grasmere for Christmas. We can only describe it as perfect in every way. The room, the food the best we have eaten anywhere, absolutely first class, the staff, the ambience and most of all the way Rob, Anton and the staff looked after us and made everything special. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms without exception are wonderful
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to go away for Christmas at the last minute and were very fortunate to get in at the Grasmere because of a cancellation. Everything about our stay was excellent - the room, the food, the location, the friendly service, the roaring log fires, the food. We had all the benefits of Christmas without any of the hassle. Did I mention the food ? We were so pleased that we have already booked for NEXT Christmas.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 'Dorothy' is good if you are physically challenged
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After ten years it was the best ever even though weather the worst. Able to enjoy delightful sitting room , wonderful log fires, tea and cakes from 2.00pm onwards. Food, choice and presentation superb and service excellent. It easily beats many four star hotels we have stayed in. Crockery charming and tasteful and dining room tables pleasantly spaced.
The welcome from all staff and owners very warm and attentive and attention to detail impressive.
Best of all coming in soaking from a walk to find delightful Barbara there to take one's boots, jackets,hats and gloves to the drying room and back in the morning clean and dry.
There cannot be many places in the Lake District that can beat this charming period hotel in the middle of the wonderful village of Grasmere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Once again another fabulous break here.It just gets better and better.Food, service ambience and accommodation absolutetly superb.The whole team are very professional and nothing is too much trouble.Already booked for next Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 5 days of the 3 day Christmas Break - 3 days is just not long enough as is proved by the misery of those leaving after just 3 days. The food keeps on getting better somehow and the friendliness of all the staff is just great. Rob and John are a great front of house team and there were great cheers when the reluctant Anton and his team came out of the kitchen after the Christmas Lunch which was the best ever.

We are booked again for next year as are a great many of the others so if you want to join in you had better get your skates on.

Congratulations for the promotion to 3 AA stars very well deserved - they are 5 star in anybodys book anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are recently refubished and excellent but the 2nd floor rooms are worth the extra although...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AceGolfer13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was thrilled when we drove into Grasmere and found the hotel as it is really well situated and quite lovely. We had a bit of a bump in the road when we tried to check in and make arrangements for dinner, but Rob stepped in and very quickly and efficiently had everything started. Everything was up hill from that moment on and I could not fault the hotel in any way! I have a small group tour company and we look for small, unique and comfortable spots around the country the make our tours special. The Grasmere filled the bill in every area and especially with food!
Everyone was thrilled with dinner and the dining room is set up very nicely with an intimate feel although we talked with a few of the couple who were also staying there and it felt very home like. I would have no problem using the hotel again or recommending to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I'll start this review by saying that we would happily have paid for the meal, what we paid for our entire stay ! This hotel is one of very few we have stayed in that actually looks like the photos on the internet. There are no clever camera angles making the place look bigger or cosier, It is big and extremely cosy. My husband and I are both over 6ft tall and the bedrooms and bathrooms in this perfect period hotel are much more than average in size, comfort and style. The food is to die for and I'm a fuss ! Perfect service, presentation and really, really good food. I'm glad it rained during our stay, it gave us the perfect opportunity to fully enjoy the atmosphere and relax in this gem of a place. See you next year and Thankyou

Room Tip: We stayed in the DeQuincy, it's huge and beautiful. It overlooks the front of the hotel but it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing