We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book.”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Everything about our short break at this wonderful country house hotel was absolutely perfect.
We were greeted by John who kindly took our luggage up to our room, which was large and airy well appointed tastefully decorated and spotless.
Coffee, homemade cakes and biscuits were then served in the beautiful guests lounge we sat by the roaring log fire, oh so relaxing.
In the evening canapés were served in the lounge where we had time to select our evening meal from a very tempting and interesting menu along with pre dinner drinks. The food was of the highest quality, tasted divine and presented like a picture on the plate.
Breakfast (if you have room) was extensive and cooked to order. Now being day light we could appreciate the wonderful view over the gardens and down to the river.
Rob and his fantastic team were attentive, friendly, professional but not at all intrusive.
We rarely return to the same hotel but The Grasmere is the exception . On leaving we booked another weekend break.
Do not hesitate, just book you will not be disappointed this is truly a gem in The Lakes

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Grasmere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent accommodation - we occupied three of the rooms and they were all extremely comfortable, cosy and with all amenities. Excellent food - dinner & breakfast, great selection and great quality. Exceptional customer care - we felt very well looked-after.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpl_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked an afternoon tea as part of my mums special birthday. From my enquiry through to the actual event I cannot fault the hotel and the staff. The table setting was lovely, the food was delicious and it was very reasonably priced... A perfect venue!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank OzHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights between Christmas & New Year. This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Grasmere Hotel but my husbands first and it was as good as I remembered when I visited with my sister earlier in the year.

We stayed in the De Qunicey room which was spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet during our stay. The hotel was dressed tastefully with Christmas decorations & the roaring log fires in the lounge give you a welcoming feeling.

Grasmere itself is a busy village and all the shops & restaurants are open during the festive period. However breakfast at the hotel certainly sets you up for the day and the evening meals are as good as any five star restaurant, innovative and beautifully presented in the stylish dining room.

This hotel has a lot of repeat guests so if you are looking to celebrate a special occasion early booking is essential and I'm certain you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Grasmere for Christmas. We can only describe it as perfect in every way. The room, the food the best we have eaten anywhere, absolutely first class, the staff, the ambience and most of all the way Rob, Anton and the staff looked after us and made everything special. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms without exception are wonderful
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie160582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to go away for Christmas at the last minute and were very fortunate to get in at the Grasmere because of a cancellation. Everything about our stay was excellent - the room, the food, the location, the friendly service, the roaring log fires, the food. We had all the benefits of Christmas without any of the hassle. Did I mention the food ? We were so pleased that we have already booked for NEXT Christmas.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 'Dorothy' is good if you are physically challenged
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItsAllOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After ten years it was the best ever even though weather the worst. Able to enjoy delightful sitting room , wonderful log fires, tea and cakes from 2.00pm onwards. Food, choice and presentation superb and service excellent. It easily beats many four star hotels we have stayed in. Crockery charming and tasteful and dining room tables pleasantly spaced.
The welcome from all staff and owners very warm and attentive and attention to detail impressive.
Best of all coming in soaking from a walk to find delightful Barbara there to take one's boots, jackets,hats and gloves to the drying room and back in the morning clean and dry.
There cannot be many places in the Lake District that can beat this charming period hotel in the middle of the wonderful village of Grasmere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £110 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing