We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total agreement”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have just returned from Oak Bank and can only agree with the previous review from Whitley Bay who were there at the same time. This without doubt is an outsatnding establishment, beautiful rooms, incredible food, gracious hosts. We look forward to our next booking.

Room Tip: They are all excellent rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThewrightsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

just returned today [18th sept 2011] from.yet another,wonderful stay at the oakbank hotel,my wife,lynne,and i have been regulars for years now,and NEVER have we left disappointed by either food or service,always accorded a friendly welcome and fond goodbye off glynis and simon,our two hard working hosts for the weekend.We STRONGLY recommend a stay at the oakbank to anyone who reads this review.....go on...you know you want too!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book early!!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank safcpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We felt very welcome from the moent we arrived, nice rooms, great food and a lovely ambience

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derryanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We have just returned form our fouth stay at this wonderul place! The service is excelent and Glynis Simon and their staff cant do enough for their guests. We have been visiting for the past four years and have stayed twice this year and each trip it just gets better, The food is superb. We have done many cruise holidays and the food at this hotel beats them all!
We have booked our next stay for early next year and are looking forward to it already, Thank you to all of you at Oak Banf for making our fourth trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAHWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

enjoyed five nights at this hotel which was recommended by friends from church. it was a joy from the start. glynis and simon were so kind and helpful. our first dinner was superb, we were first brought appetizers which we then looked forward to each evening. the quality of courses and choice was outstanding, standards remained high each evening with little repitition. breakfasts offered a wide and varied menu setting us up for a day in the lovely lake district. each day we returned to our comfortable room in time for a leisurely bath anticipating the food that we were to enjoy that evening. we still smile about the soup [it was lovely] and we are still not sure what a shooter is! but it was delicious. the wine list was extensive.
we will not mention the weather!!

Room Tip: rooms were excellent so should please most guests.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim17downie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked Oak Bank several months ago to attend the beer and music festival in Grasmere.It looked fairly standard 3 star on the internet but we were delighted to find Oak bank far from standard 3 star! Our rooms were excellent especially lovely large bath great for post hiking soak. The main wow factor though was the food and service in the restaurant. It rivalled top -end hotels such as The Angel Hetton and The Host and the bill was a fraction of the mentioned hotels. Simon and Glynis have really got it right .Room 15 was on the warm side as it s over kitchen but thats a plus for winter booking.Lovely to dry wet walking kit in boiler room too. Thoughtful service

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Really enjoyed our sty - the meals were excellent - looked forward to getting back each day for supper. Nice touch was a small carafe of sherry in the room - filled again each day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £112 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing