We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for yet another perfect stay”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location for yet another perfect stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Centrally located in Grasmere for both local strolls or more adventurous walking. This hotel offers tastefully decorated bedrooms, comfortable bed, and more than just the essentials in complementary toiletries and refreshments in your room. The four course evening meals will be difficult to match in both imagination, presentation and quality with very different canapes each evening whilst ordering your food. A simple but adequately stocked bar and two comfortable lounges to relax in with an open fire. Breakfast again has a more than adequate menu to keep you going for the day and again presented and served in style.If you want great service from management and staff, great food good accommodation then I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    102
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
505
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

when staying in grasmere before usually at gold rill however after seeing that the oakank was ranked no 1 in grasmere we decided to try it and we were not disappointed. granted the hotel may not luck particularly appealing from the outside but once inside there are two lovely lounge areas and a stylish restuarant partially in the conservatory. the rooms are tastefully decorated with all the essentials and the beds are very comfy the highlight of your stay though will be the food the presentation and originality of the menu takes some beating but still manages to incorporate staples like lakeland beef cumbrian lamb and the tastiest pork i have ever eaten he breakfasts are also great the oakbank full english did not have a trace of grease on the plate would highly recomment this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gipster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Another lovely stay at the Oakbank Hotel.
Perfectly position to visit the lake district,perfect walking opportunities, perfect food and accomodation, perfect autumn weather, perfect company!
Overall another perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Oak Bank is a real gem. True there are many larger, good quality, very luxurious hotels in the Lakes but you can sacrifice service, the personal touch and quality of stay when you have large lounges, extensive grounds and over-inflated prices. If you want great food, good quality, personal service then stay here.
The Oak Bank is punching above its weight and you should stay there for the food alone. Chef's complimentary canapés in the bar, then a beautiful four course dinner, exquisitely cooked and presented with friendly service from owners and staff alike make for a delightful evening.
If you are expecting a pile of mash and a yard of Cumberland sausages, you need to go elsewhere, portions are not vast, but more than ample and in my 30 years of hotel contracting around the world, equals a couple of Michelin starred restaurants I have visited recently in terms of taste and presentation. Yes, its that good!
Rooms - we stayed in a superior on the first floor and was a good size, very well presented, immaculately clean, with everything you need including complimentary sherry each evening.
Public areas are not extensive – two comfortable lounges with an open fire and extensive bar, leading into the nice restaurant and conservatory.
Breakfast was a similar delight with a great choice and the Oak Bank Special beautifully cooked and presented; just the job for a good day out in the Grasmere area.
The hotel is situated bang in the middle of the village and we left the car in the car park for the whole 3 days we were there. One tip! Before dawn look over the road out the front of the Oak Bank into the field and you could well see a small herd of deer foraging in the paddock - we saw them each morning.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the small side. Room 5, Superior on the first floor was nice, and althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nice hotel,well appointed rooms and great food. We'll be back !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have stayed many times at this wonderful hotel, everytime has been great. The hosts are warm and welcoming and nothing is too much. Rooms are excellent and the food is just "out of this world". One of the best meals I have ever had. I would recommend you try this hotel out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Oak Bank for five nights in September 2011. We were in the Acorn Room which is spacious and well equipped. Glynis and Simon work really hard to make this hotel one of the top ones in Grasmere and it really shows. When we made our reservation we decided to dine in the hotel for five nights. We had read good reviews of the restaurant on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed with the meals. The dining room is a delightful setting with a glass ceiling covering much of it. The food is generally excellent, well presented and sometimes outstanding. We met a number of fellow travelers at the Oak Bank and many of them were back for a third or fourth visit. They all said the high food quality was one of the main reasons they returned.
Grasmere is an upscale and delightful little village with many walks leading off in all directions. Apart from an unusually rainy September we thought everything about Oak Bank first rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jongage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing