We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at Oak Bank”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
borders
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at Oak Bank”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Nothing but praise for the hotel. Simon and Glynis and their staff make you feel very welcome and full marks must go to the Head Chef and his staff in the kitchen for the magnificent food that they produce. The menus were constantly changing and each course was better than the previous one. Superb.

Room Tip: Any room would be an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norjenBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    102
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
512
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Our third visit to Oak Bank, the last being in June 2010. At that time we gave it 5 out of 5 so it was interesting to see what had changed in the intervening eighteen months. Externally, all looked the same apart from the remains of the recent snow. However the rooms - previously very good - have obviously been updated and ours was great in every respect - good size bed, warm and very comfortable with a countryside view. Food was still absolutely superb, I'm pleased to say - an excellent dining experience with service to match. Well done to Glynis, Simon and the staff for a very enjoyable visit - as always it was a wrench to leave! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first visit on the recommendation of Trip Advisor.The hotel is a little gem. The staff are friendly, hard working, attentive, accommodating, and professional - lots of little touches that some may not notice. We felt really welcome. The food is outstanding - beautiful presentation, expertly prepared and the quantity perfect after a day out on the hills. The location is wonderful and ideal for exploration of the area around Grasmere - even in snow and ice! There is a bit of 'tidying up' needing doing in the bathroom of the room in which we stayed, but nothing that detracted from our enjoyment of Oak Bank. We recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marske
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Havng just returned from yet another stay at Oak Bank Hotel I was more than suprised to read reviews that were not more than excellent.. ..which was very suprising. It is however not suprising the differences in expectations....how on earth do hoteliers cope with such differences in opinion and not take these critisms personally..... well done you. In the meantime myself husband and family having nothing but praise. ....what an excellent accommodation and little bit of luxury in the lakes....... even if there where some small pointers...... and there must always be constructive critism ... otherwise how would this world go round. .... I would not voice to allow others to critise unnecessaryily ... and needless to say this is one traveller who will contine to visit this hotel without concern of quality or accommodation or cuisine...which I must say was second to none. Book me yet another room ... well done

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were again very pleased with the stay.
The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The food is of 'fine dining' quality and portions, but there was enough to satisfy after a day walking in the area.
The weather was very cold, but the hotel was kept warm, An open fire in the comfortable lounge next to the dining room was a good focus for after dinner drinks and talking to other guests.
We will no doubt return as the standards are consistently first class.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Rose-Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at the Oak Bank from 30/12/11-02/01/12 for a 3 night New Year break.
It is in a lovely location in Grasmere village with its pubs, tearooms and walks straight from the door.
We arrived earlier than our check in time, but Simon showed us to our room without a problem. We thought the room was a little small at first but it turned out to be very cosy and with a comfortable bed. Perfectly adequate for a stay in the Lake District (you dont spend a lot of time in your room anyway!). We were welcomed with afternoon tea in the cosy bar lounge with the real fire going. Very relaxing. Here we got chatting to the other guests who were staying for the same 3 night break.
The evening meals and the breakfasts were exceptional with a good choice of quality dishes made with locally sourced ingredients (just watch that waistline!!).
New Years eve was perfect. We went out walking in the morning then to the complimentary Langdale spa in the afternoon for a swim, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. In the evening we met in the bar for champagne and canapes followed by our 8 course meal. We paid extra for the matching wine flight and thought it was well worth the money. After dinner, coffee and petit fours were served in the lounges followed by dancing and fireworks. We felt so relaxed around the staff and the other guests (some of whom had returned here year after year for new year) that we felt more like we were celebrating new year at a friends house.
It is obvious that Simon, Glynis and the staff work very hard. They gave us excellent service throughout our stay and I certainly hope to return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsOLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel between christmas and new year for two nights having booked after reading tripadvsor reviews. We were certainly not disapointed. Our room although slightly on the small side was beautifully furnished and decorated. A small caraffe of sherry was a lovely touch as were the nice toiletries in the bathroom. The food here is something else! We had dinner on both evenings and so pleased we did - was excellent value. To find fine dining is such a small friendly hotel made our christmas. Will deffinately be back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing