We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Travellers Rest Inn(Grasmere)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe(Grasmere)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
618
105
26
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
618
105
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of sherryamuse bouchefantastic foodfresh milkhomemade shortbreaddining experiencesmall hotellittle touchesfine dininglake districtowners and staffevening mealwine listfriendly hotelstandard roomdining roomlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Oak Bank, for the first time, for 4 nights at Easter and were completely bowled over. First and foremost the food is absolutely stunning-in fact some of the best we have ever eaten, including at many top London restaurants. Portion sizes are just right so you never feel you have overdone it and the chef relies on great local produce, skill and an amazing palate, rather than lots of cream and salt. Service is impeccable and the atmosphere is lovely. Oh, and the breakfasts are divine, with extra touches added for Easter. Rooms are spotless and also with lots of extra touches eg a mini decanter of sherry. The hotel is perfectly located for walking - you can go straight out the door in any direction and find great walks - no need for a car at all. Simon and Glynis work incredibly hard to make sure everything is perfect and deserve every success.

Room Tip: Room 6 is perfect for one person but might be too small for 2 - although it has everything you need. Room 11 is much more spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

booked Oak Bank by mistake, we were trying to remember the name of the hotel next door where we'd stayed a year or so earlier. But Oak Bank was fantastic, lovely room with the benefit of a top floor room. The food was stunning and we all had a great time.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We are frequent visitors to Grasmere but had not stayed at Oak Bank and did so as a result of reviews. The exterior of the hotel does not prepare you for the beautiful and tasteful decor to be found within. The public rooms and bedrooms, each decorated differently with great style are spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The owners obviously take great pride in welcoming you to stay and the food was exquisite and far superior to some other meals which we have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants. Would we return ? we booked on our return home for ourselves and friends and would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates excellent accommodation and superb food.
Dianne and Stephen

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandSHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our 2nd stay and 2nd Easter break at the Oak Bank Hotel and it was every bit as good as the last stay. The food was exceptional and we ate in the Hotel 3 nights this time and could not fault anything. We had room 6 (again) and it was lovely and cozy. The breakfasts are really good, with a good chioce and all freshly cooked. Had some nice wines with the meals and if you are a Red Wine lover, try the Black Siraz.

We met some lovely people at the Hotel, and a family who have been going there for years, go back a couple of times a year.

The Hotel and the staff are a credit to Simom and Glynis who all work really hard to ensure your stay is a perfect one.

Looking forward to going back to the Oak Bank in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murraysx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a 3 night weekend break including dinner each evening. We were delighted with the experience and have only knocked off one star because the en suite was cramped. It would, therefore, have benefited from having a shower rather than a bath. Moreover the bath controls did not work properly.
Having got that out of the way, we can only award plus points all round for location, service, comfort and value for money. The hotel 'punches well above its weight' in terms of its food. The menu changed daily. The principal ingredients were locally sourced and the dishes (and the chef's 'extras') were presented with many additional touches and refinements. This was fine dining modestly priced. An extra benefit - and one rarely experienced - is that Oak Bank operates a 'flat pricing' policy across a very decent wine list; so that we were able to enjoy a Faiveley Côtes de Beaune and a Jadot St Véran each at around £25 a bottle.
Glynis and Simon are to be congratulated and should be supported - though not to the extent of prejudicing our future bookings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews