We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable Hotel”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in The Iris Suite - lovely comfortable room with a shared terrace to sit out on. Breakfast was excellent with lovely lakeland produce used.We enjoyed the 4 course evening meal on our first night - a real treat. The staff without exception were friendly and attentive without being too intrusive - really well run. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

I am torn between giving 4 or 5 starts.

The restaurant definitely deserves 5 stars - more even - the food is absolutely outstanding. I have eventually settled on 4 due to a couple of small niggles with our room.

We had a basic room for our two night stay. We would have preferred one of the hotel's premium rooms, but we booked late so this was the best available. The room was small, but clean with everything we needed in it, but I felt they let themselves down by providing what I felt were poor quality pillows and towels.

After our first night at Oak Bank, requiring fresh towels I placed all our dirty wet towels on the floor of the shower ready to be changed. It wasn't until that evening when I was about to step into the shower that I realised these towels had all been picked up and placed on the heated towel rail to dry and be used again. Hence, all I had available to me at that stage was wet and dirty towels. Thankfully my husband was around so he had the towels replaced. Our friends who were staying in another room had the same experience, but unfortunately they only realised the situation as one of them stepped out of the shower and found they had no dry clean towels. The towels were also very small and light-weight, which was a disappointment and not befitting an establishment offering such high standards in other areas.

The hotel downstairs (and the other rooms looking at the pictures) was nicely furnished. The cooked breakfast was worthy of any five star hotel and the dinner was outstanding. Not what you would expect to find in such a small, low-key hotel. I cannot praise the food highly enough and that was the opinion of my husband and our friends.

Would we go back? Yes, but we'd make sure we were in one of the bigger rooms and would certainly check out the towel situation before getting wet!

Room Tip: The double bed in our standard room seemed small, so if you like your space, enquire about the bed s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Oak Bank and your kind comments about the food, cleanliness and the furnishings.

There are two kinds of pillows in the standard rooms one hollowfibre made by Silentnight and one microfibre made by a hotel contract company, per person, we are sorry that Mrs P felt they were poor quality as the price of them would not suggest that, particularly the microfibre which are top of the range ‘down like’. The towels are a standard hand and bath towel per person from a contract laundry. Sometimes these do differ in quality because some are older than others. Come on Sunlight!!

We operate the same way as any hotel throughout the world that if your towels are put in the shower tray or bath tub they are changed without question, if they were put anywhere else - and sometimes they do get left all over, we will hang them on the heated towel rails to dry. We would hope that on a two night stay, as this was, that the guests would opt to reuse their towels, not because it saves us money because it doesn’t, the reason a two, three, four etc. night stay gets steadily better value is because we pass on the laundry saving to the guest, would the towels be dirty drying a clean body? Would you change your towels every day at home? Do your bit for the environment! Just sayin’

Simon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Oak Bank Hotel on Tuesday 24th , we were late in arriving but never at any point did we feel the staff/ owners found this a nuisance . Oak Bank was everything that we had expected it to be but the dinner was even better than we hoped .
Our dinner bed and breakfast rate was around the same price as the bed and breakfast rate in comparable hotels in the area which we feel made it great value for money .
Our room was called Iris and had an exceptionally comfortable king size bed . There was a lovely patio which we managed to go on to the next morning when the rain stopped where we watched a rabbit munching on the lawn .
Our dinner was delicious , excellent choices available I can't think that there would not be something that would suit everyone . The desserts were delicious just wish I could have spent another night just to try another dessert ! Coffee and tea with home made turkish delight was served in a beautifully decorated front lounge with a fantastic old range .
Breakfast was another delight, a gorgeous fry without a hint of grease, pretty perfect we both agreed .
The staff were marvellous nothing was to much bother , super waitress who was so lovely, cheerful and genuine .
It is such a perfect place to stay we can't speak highly enough of it . We will be back.

Room Tip: I would expect all the rooms to be of a high standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coantrimtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Acorn suite for a weekend away. After reading the reviews on trip advisor, we weren't disappointed. The room was very comfortable with lots of nice touches like decent ground coffee, luxury toiletries etc. Simon and Glynis are both extremely friendly and welcoming and this made the stay more enjoyable. As others have mentioned, the food is absolutely superb. I am more of a foody than my wife, but we both really enjoyed the quality of both Dinner and Breakfast. The menu on both evenings would rival a Michelin rated restaurant and each dish was expertly presented. I would definitely recomend this hotel and I know we will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a delightful 4 day stay at the Oakbank Hotel. The hotel is well situated on the outskirts of the village, but everything was in easy walking distance. The rooms were comfortable, and ours had a lovely outlook over the surrounding hills. The staff were extemely friendly and helpful - the breakfast was good and the dinner excellent and the choice of wines very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (away from the road) have a better outlook and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A return visit to Oak Bank, this time with friends. The whole experience was, if it is possible, even better. The whole team work so hard to ensure a fantastic time is had by all. All aspects of the hotel and service are very good, with obvious attention to detail and a really warm and welcoming atmosphere, which is utterly genuine and un-intrusive. The food from canapés to petit fours was incredible, the best food we have eaten, every night a new range of tastes and experiences. Just as well there is plenty of room for exercise in the vicinity ! Thank you for a wonderful holiday.Dianne & Stephen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandSHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at Oak Bank Hotel and we certainly hope to return again. Simon, Glynis and their staff are committed to customer service, the food is the best we have ever tasted and the choice and presentation is outstanding. The hotel is well appointed and is conveniently situated for visiting many of the lakes. It is also dog friendly which is most important to us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing