We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, would go back for a 3rd”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Second stay, would go back for a 3rd”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Good location and off-road parking. Service is good and friendly. The food is excellent. I was billed for some steak I didn't have but this was an honest mistake and was rectified immediately. The rooms are comfortable although one of the radiators didn't work in ours, so it was a touch on the chilly side.

In summary, a good value, comfortable and friendly hotel with a restaurant it justifiably prides itself on. A couple of minor slips, but it wouldn't stop us going back.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    102
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
506
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We wanted somewhere to spend our anniverasry weekend around the Grasmere area. The reviews for Oak Bank did say the food was excellent - they were not wrong. The room was good and the staff helpful and friendly but it was the food that was the star turn. Evening meals were creative, beautifully presented and exceeding well cooked. Good reasonably priced wine list. Breakfasts were equally good - especially like the fact they put the beans in a small pot! We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was our first excursion relying on Trip Advisor's ratings. And we were extremely impressed with the hotel! It lived up to its reputation for friendliness, efficiency of staff and delightful room. But the quality and value of the food was way beyond expectation. Our biggest disappointment was that the hotel is now only open Friday and Saturday nights over the winter months (apart from Christmas), as we would have liked to stay longer.
The public rooms were well appointed with a large log fire to warm you up after a cold day round Grasmere!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the garden are best if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We fell upon this hotel completely by chance through the internet. Thank goodness we did. We had two wonderful nights. The staff are efficient and friendly , nothing seemed to be a problem ( not that we had any). We were delighted that the room we had chosen looked exactly like the picture on the website. It was clean warm and well furnished. It was so comfortable we slept in for breakfast!. The meals were outstanding highest quality , beautifully presented and original ideas. It really is a hidden treasure and well worth a visit..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This was not our first stay at the Oak Bank, we are like rubber balls bouncing back again and again and you may ask why we do this, well it is because we are made so welcome and treated like old friends by everyone at this hotel. The rooms are lovely, we like room 4 but have stayed in most of them in the years we have been visiting and they are all up to a high standard, lovely comfy beds with crisp bed linen which makes you just want to sink in and go to sleep, the food is outstanding, something new every time we visit and something for everyone, diet requirements catered for (although I have to say that is medical requirements and not calorie as who would want to give up the fab food unless they had to for health reasons) lovely bathing products, my favourite is the bath salts and believe me I am very fussy about what I use on my skin, all of the staff are so friendly and attentive, not in a obtrusive way but there if you need them to pander to every whim. We travelled with friends and the weather was a bit wet so we played Trivial Pursuit in the lounge, Majorie made sure the fire was kept going, brought us tea and coffee and even helped us girls with some of the answers - thank you Marjorie, after dinner we played again and other guests joined in with us and we had quite a team going although I have to say the boys won but only just. Special mention to Clara who was lovely, chatty and took my friend's husband's teasing with good grace and gave as good as she got. The whole team including those behind doors are wonderful, they all work so hard to make the stay perfect. Simon and Glynis have got this just right which shows in the fact we keep coming back. Give it a try you won't be disappointed - what more could you want, or to be more exact, value for money you would be paying alot more elsewhere - no Simon don't get any ideas about putting the prices up yet. A wonderful time yet again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

So glad we discovered this hotel through tripadvisor- Absolute gem of a place-We arrived very very late after driving through atrocious weather, road closures and queueing traffic-phoned ahead and were delighted to hear we would not be going to bed without our dinner. My husband is a member of the Masterchef Guild and we have our own restaurant. Privately he can be fairly critical but not here-positively oozed and drooled over the food. Now we have found here we do want to leave a great review but they only have 14 rooms so not sure how much we want to share this gem. The Winter Break rate for DBB was exceptional value. Hope to re-visit soon.

Room Tip: Visit the website and pick by room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajmoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My sister and I spent a wonderful week (15 - 22 September 2012) at the Oak Bank Hotel. Everything was absolutely superb - Simon, Glynis and their staff are so welcoming, kind and attentive; nothing was ever too much trouble and they are to be commended for the exemplary way they run this hotel. Our room (the Acorn Suite) was spacious, scrupulously clean and had lovely comfortable beds. The food - absolutely delicious, every single morsel. Breakfast was great every day too - the chef certainly knows how to poach eggs perfectly (everything was lovely, but the eggs deserve a special mention).

If we are ever lucky enough to get back to the Lakes, Oak Bank is where we'd choose to stay.

Room Tip: The Acorn Suite is large with its own entrance and a very good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarmaladeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
645 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing