We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Grasmere”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem in Grasmere”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent 4 nights here half board in May. We used to stay at the Youth Hostels in our student days, so this was quite a step up! The double rosette for food was what really attracted our attention, and it certainly did not disappoint. What a choice of menu for breakfast, not to mention beautifully designed and tasty dinners, in lovely surroundings. Our hosts were very pleasant, as was all the staff, and the location was perfect for our planned hikes with no car. Unfortunately the weather was less than stellar, but we enjoyed our visit nonetheless. The room was very cosy and quiet, with views over the pretty back garden and out to the fells. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 7 on the top floor, with the best views. Cost a little more, and no lift, so beware if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    101
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
56
502
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. The food was first class and the service excellent. Stayed on my own but was made to feel most welcome. The room was very comfortable. The only downside was that I would have preferred a bath to a shower but other than this I would highly recommend a stay there. Although the hotel fronts onto the main road through Grasmere, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellwalker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you fellwalker7 for your kind comments about Oak Bank. Just a quick note to say all our superior and superior plus rooms do have ensuite baths with shower over, our standard rooms have shower en-suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband booked this last minute on Friday to arrive on Saturday. We have stayed many times before at this hotel and yet again a wonderful weekend, we both can't praise this hotel enough, the welcome we always receive is warm and friendly, the rooms individual and very well appointed, lovely decor and wouldn't look out of place in an Ideal Homes magazine just lovely. Food wonderful on par with 5 star. You just couldn't want for more for a relaxing break, and relaxing is the key at this hotel, nothing is a bother for Simon and Glynis or any member of staff, they pander to every whim and what is more they enjoy looking after their guests, this just shines through every time we visit. They look after you without being in your face, they are there if you need them you only have to ask. We have stayed in other hotels where on one occasion i knocked my knife on the table and it twisted round, the waiter immediately jumped to put it straight again so I felt on edge all night, not at the Oak Bank, you get good service, fab food, lovely rooms and friendly service, the last thing Simon Glynis and the team want is for you to be on edge they would be horrified if you left feeling like this, it is like being invited into their home as friends not guests. Wonderful keep up the good work and see you in November.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have a balcony and in the summer it is lovely to sit out and chill, but we have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent 3 nights as a short break during half term, with friends, and were not disappointed. The welcome was warm, everything decorated to a high standard. Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable and the food was stunning. It was worthy of a top restaurant and we could not fault it- incredible value. We are highly likely to return not only to lovely Grasmere but to The Oak Bank Hotel. Cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

On our first stay here (just 2 nights - half board) we were very impressed by this small, friendly hotel. The bar area and conservatory restaurant were very comfortable and spacious, and the food and service excellent. Our bedroom was small, but very comfortable and spotless, and enhanced by a large balcony, which would have been great in better weather.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Excellent small hotel in the centre of Grassmere. Very comfortable, individually styled rooms, and a great welcome from the owners who like to make you feel "at home". Wonderful locally sourced food imaginatively prepared by a kitchen that cares!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I think this is the 8th year we have visited Oakbank and it's become a bit of a tradition! The food seems to get better each year and it is a perfect place for us to go as a large party of friends who can eat together then relax in the lounge together afterwards. Thank you once again Simon and Glynis for a lovely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLISNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing