We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Weekend”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical Weekend”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great hospitality in a beautiful setting. Simon and Glyniss couldn not have been more accomodating. The rooms were very comfortable. The food was incredibly good. Great wine selection too.
We had a wonderful time and recommend Oak Bank enthusiastically!

Room Tip: in the front are great views of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    102
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
512
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

1. Location in very charming Grasmere.
2. It's near the bus stop; you don't need a car.
3. Tourists disappear around 5 p.m. so it's quiet.
4. The hotel restaurant is in a beautiful, light filled conservatory.
5.The chef prepares creative, delicious dinners.
6. Several choices for breakfast prepared from high quality, locally sourced foods.
7. The staff are friendly and helpful.
8. Comfortable beds.
9. Modern bathroom with shower/tub.
10. It's clean.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the largest of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful small hotel. The food was exquisite. The best food me and my partner have ever eaten. Each course consisted of many elements and the presentation of the food was simply brilliant. The homemade bread and butter was great, my favourite was the seaweed butter. I had never eaten here before but will be returning again.
Cheap price for the standard of service and food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daskew92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived half an hour early in torrential rain and were slightly disappointed with our greeting, but that said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We expected a little more of room 1, which is slightly on the small size for a superior room and has a couple of bits of Sellotape holding drawers together but in the main, it was fine. We were a little hot a night, despite the weather cooling down and there being no heating on and it might be nice to have the option of a cooler quilt. The dining experience was truly a treat although if you intend to eat here for more than a couple of days, just bear in mind that the menu does not seem to change. The timing for service in the restaurant was spot on, perfectly timed courses with just the right gap. However, if you like most things, then you can just go through each of the options which were all delicious. If you like unfussy food, then you can opt for the steak and chips. The bar lounge is quite compact but this made it easy to chat with other guests in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Car parking was not a problem and you can block in other cars if you arrive last or use the on road parking.
Grasmere is a lovely central spot and we would recommend a stay at the Oak Bank Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolWillows2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It makes us happy that BlackpoolWillows2 thoroughly enjoyed their stay and that they would recommend us. Just a quick note about Sellotape holding draws together – It doesn’t, the draws themselves are solid enough, unfortunately a couple of guests have not been as careful with the black glass faced furniture as anyone would hope and have cracked a couple of the glass tops, as the furniture is very new this is a great shame, but a lesson for us and any other hotelier/accommodation provider not to use glass in this way, very pretty - but not really suitable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a great small hotel. our room was comfortable and nicely furnished. It is really good that you can see all the rooms on-line, that way there are no surprises. The food was exquisite. Don't expect huge portions of "fill you up rubbish" but do expect lovingly prepared food with lots of elements to make it interesting and individual. The bread was lovely and by the time we had had all the courses we had definitely filled up. This is our kind of food!
Grasmere is a lovely place and the host should be proud of what they have achieved with this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank human71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

my husband and I stayed here recently for a weekend break and really liked the hotel. The staff were friendly, the service was excellent and the food was absolutely amazing! We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emski100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belligham WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The hotel is on the main road and in the village. The staff and owners were all friendly and very nice. We both are older and needed help with our 2 bags and they were more than helpful. Our room was very pleasant with a good bathroom including heated towel rack. There was complimentary water and sherry besides the usual tea,and coffee. Breakfast and dinner were included in the room price. The food was excellent, with several interesting choices for each course at dinner. The hotel is in the middle of the Lake District and we drove the country roads to enjoy the views. It is also prime area for hiking with lots of places to go. We did a few short walks which we enjoyed. It is not cheap, but we both felt it was a very good value for what you got. English restaurant food is not cheap and getting both an excellent breakfast and a gourmet dinner for the price of the room was a good buy. This was one of the best places we stayed and had some of the best food we had on our 3 week trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjpanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing