We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cosy hotel in Grasmere”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cosy hotel in Grasmere”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Oak Bank recently for two nights. Our bedroom at the back not only had a lovely quiet garden aspect, but was beautifully furnished and had a state-of-the-art new bathroom. To my astonishment the 6 ft wide divan bed contained two new Vi-Spring mattresses which meant the best night's sleep we ever had in a hotel.

Dining was a pleasure in their attractive conservatory dining room - evening meals proper gourmet food and breakfast delicious. All served quickly and with charming personal attention. The owners are in attendance and we congratulate them.

We shall be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    102
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
57
504
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just returned from the Oak Bank Hotel after a couple of night's stay with my oldest friend. We met half way - her from Sheffield and me from Glasgow - and couldn't have chosen a better place.
The setting is amazing and the staff in the hotel are so friendly and welcoming. The absolute star of the show, though, is the food at this hotel. Most of the reviews do say the food is excellent but it was even better than I expected and, in my opinion, deserves more the AA 2 Star Rating it currently has. Also, dare I say it, I think it should be charged at a higher rate!!
There are some negative reviews for this hotel to which the owners are, quite rightly, defensive in their response. While people will and should always have their opinion to give, it seems to me that Glynis and Simon are very passionate about their hotel and the vision that they are trying to make reality. I own my own business and know how many hours it takes and how much personal sacrifice there is so, while there are a couple of things around the edges that possibly could be improved, the main boxes are definitely ticked (some twice!) and I have no doubt that there will be many a satisfied customer will stay at and return to this hotel.
Overall, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EOGlasgow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful time here, we couldn't fault anything. The food was amazing, we looked forward to every meal which was a real treat. The staff went out of their way to please and all the little extra touches made our stay very special. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had stayed in Ambleside the night before and wished we had followed our hearts to Grasmere. Grasmere is so chilled out and the Oak Bank Hotel matches this attitude. Really easy comfortable environment, staff are really down to earth, our room (just the standard) was just right and had a great view, food is awesome. Have been to a few starred restaurants and this one really deserves a star or two. Good selection of wine too. Usually book a cottage in Grasmere, but for a short notice break, without doubt I will be returning to stay and I will be going back for dinner

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greencatclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great hospitality in a beautiful setting. Simon and Glyniss couldn not have been more accomodating. The rooms were very comfortable. The food was incredibly good. Great wine selection too.
We had a wonderful time and recommend Oak Bank enthusiastically!

Room Tip: in the front are great views of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

1. Location in very charming Grasmere.
2. It's near the bus stop; you don't need a car.
3. Tourists disappear around 5 p.m. so it's quiet.
4. The hotel restaurant is in a beautiful, light filled conservatory.
5.The chef prepares creative, delicious dinners.
6. Several choices for breakfast prepared from high quality, locally sourced foods.
7. The staff are friendly and helpful.
8. Comfortable beds.
9. Modern bathroom with shower/tub.
10. It's clean.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the largest of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful small hotel. The food was exquisite. The best food me and my partner have ever eaten. Each course consisted of many elements and the presentation of the food was simply brilliant. The homemade bread and butter was great, my favourite was the seaweed butter. I had never eaten here before but will be returning again.
Cheap price for the standard of service and food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daskew92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing