We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

enjoyed our two night mid week break nov. in room 11, could not fault in any way, food was of a very high standard and we both enjoyed the varied menu and as a retired chef I think that speaks for itself, excellent value for money and the attention to detail was first class

Room Tip: which ever suits your needs, they are all on the web to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmund h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I proposed to my girlfiriend (now fiancee) at this hotel at the end of September. I picked the hotel after looking at reviews on TripAdvisor and I couldn't have picked a better place. We have both never tasted food as nice as we had. Out of the dishes we tasted, over our two night stay, we would say every single item complimented each other and all the ingredients had such an intense flavour with them. Every member of staff couldn't have been more attentive, concientious, helpful, polite, respectful and well mannered. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and tidy, with sherry and shortbread as nice little extras. The en suite provided complimentary aromatherapy products which contributed to our relaxing stay. Might I add, this hotel is fantastic value for money for the quality of food and service that you get. We hope to return here, many more times, in the future. Dan & Hazel.

Room Tip: The hotel website has excellent photos of every room to help you make your choice. They are all uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manners1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent 2 nights here, staying in Room 5. A warm clean room with a large comfortable bed and all we required, including special items on the tea tray. Many hotels provide UHT milk cartons, but not Oakbank, flask of fresh milk provided!
Our special deal for Dinner, Bed n Breakfast was excellent value. Dinner was a dining experience we wouldn't have missed, dishes were artistic to look at and great to eat. Good choice at breakfast, again well cooked and served. Service and attention to detail could not be faulted.
Comfortable lounges and open fire in bar lounge a real bonus in November.
Location good, buses which stop nearby will take you north to Keswick and south as far as Lancaster.
This hotel is run on a friendly and professional basis and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, front facing on first floor. Nice view and very little traffic noise. Bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here in October to celebrate a wedding anniversary and we found Oak Bank Hotel to be very comfortable and accommodating. Room was excellent with coffee and tea facilities (fresh milk-so much nicer than cartons!), homemade biscuits and a small decanter of sherry which was a lovely welcome.

Food was excellent couldn't fault the evening meal or the breakfast. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shingwidzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had another great few days away at the Oak Bank hotel. Food was excellent and so was the room. We stayed in room number 7 this is great for the view. Also,would like to thank Glynis and Simon and all the staff for looking after us. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for two nights with our son and his partner. Whilst we had a good experience overall, we do not feel that the hotel deserves the glowing comments which some have made.

The carpet in our bedroom was very light in colour and badly stained, and needed a thorough cleaning. Otherwise, however, the room was clean and comfortable.

The food is certainly good, but we have eaten better at other establishments with 2 AA Rosettes.

We were disappointed with the attitude of Simon when our son's partner, who comes from South-East Asia and who had been feeling poorly, asked for some plain boiled rice for dinner. His reply to the effect that he did not know if the chef even had any rice in the kitchen surprised us. We would have expected any rosetted kitchen to have such a basic, staple ingredient as rice. Simon stated that if he had had 24 hours notice, he could have provided rice. We felt that he could and should have done better than this, since the hotel was by no means full, and the Co-op store, which is open until very late, is no more than a minute's walk from the hotel.

We know that hotels within the Lake District National Park charge a premium for their accommodation but, even allowing for that, we believe the Oak Bank's offering is overpriced for what it is, and none of us would consider making a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheMaldonTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

TheMaldonTrippers416 seem to have taken offence that we would not prepare boiled rice for their son’s partner, even though we offered to swap items around off the menu or cook dishes simpler and that seems to have clouded their review, because apart from that and the cream carpets which will be shampooed as normal at the end of the season, they say they had a good experience overall and the room was clean and comfortable.

We provided their son’s partner with her breakfast of choice on the first morning, a three egg omelette with 2 soft boiled eggs and bacon on the side, I could have said no to that but I didn’t, if I had eaten that I don’t think I would have felt too well either!

We have asked them to explain the rational why we or any other rosette kitchen should have rice as an ingredient? If we don’t serve it we don’t need it! Yes, we could have got some rice from the Co-Op, ready in 2 minutes, maybe offer Pot Noodle and microwave ready meals too and wave bye bye to our 2 rosettes in the time you can say ‘ping’!

I cannot compare our food to the other 2 rosette food establishments that they say they have eaten at as they don’t seem to have reviewed any?

They may think we are overpriced and everyone is entitled to their own opinion, on the other hand we regularly have guests stay from London and Edinburgh who tell us a meal of the quality we are serving would cost the same at home as the price of the room here inclusive of dinner, bed and breakfast. We know we are incredibly good value.

Make your own minds up people! The title of this review suggests that TheMaldonTrippers416 think they are right and the majority are wrong.

Simon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for five days in Room no. 2, nicely decorated with balcony and views. Dressing robes provided in this room with coffee, teas & chocolate with daily homemade biscuits and small decanter of sherry, all nice touches.
Would have liked to see room slippers and mat by balcony door, as this would prevent marking the light coloured carpet when using the balcony when it is wet or damp outside.
Comfortable and cosy lounge with crackling fire to relax whilst perusing the evening dinner menu with nice light dining room and conservatory. Simon & Glynis and team are very helpful when you require any help or advice. For senior citizens for town visits, I would recommend leaving the car on the car park and using the bus services for trips to Ambleside, Windermere, Bowness or Keswick as you can relax and enjoy the views and with a free journey using your bus pass. Do request bus timetable from reception and remember the times are different at the weekends. Enjoyed the walks around Grasmere and Rydal with stop for coffees and cake at Rydal Mount, and also to Easedale Tarn with lovely views.
Don’t forget your gingerbread from Sara Nelsons Ginger bread Ship, St. Oswalds Church and grounds, and if you want to see 8000 jigsaw puzzles have a visit to upstairs at Barneys Newsagents.
Lovely Grasmere, a treat.
Regards Gary Saunders

Room Tip: Room no 2 has balcony with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £68 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and Dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette and Michelin Plate awarded beautiful Dining Room and Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing