We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at The Oak Bank Hotel at the beginning of December, & found the overall stay to be excellent. The owners were very welcoming & accommodating, the rooms were to a high standard, with little touches like a small decanter of sherry & homemade biscuits left in the room.
The food in the restaurant was something else, to find food like this in what we thought was a small hotel in the Lakes was surprising, it was fine dining to a very high standard. I am Coeliac & it was no trouble to them making sure my food was gluten free, even supplying an alternative appetiser, & adjusting desserts to accommodate my dietary requirements, they even supplied gluten free breads with dinner & breakfast. I could not fault the hotel or restaurant in any way & would highly recommend it, we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room (7) & the couple we were travelling with upgraded to a superior (5...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22SS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the christmas fayres in the lakes. We had room 11 which was very nice, good size with comfortable bed. Bathroom good size with bath and over bath shower, could have done with a slight facelift but absolutely adequate.

Food was exceptional with plenty of choice and beautifully presented, same applies for breakfast too which is always a good test.

Hosts are knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful but completely unobtrusive.

We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with some close friends who have eaten at some high places. Having recommended this hotel because of the food we were worried that it did not live up to their expectations. We need not have worried and they can't wait to return.
My wife had had a recent knee replacement and we cannot thank them enough for their help with ice packs etc.
Thank you Oak Bank see you soon.

Room Tip: Go for superior room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Its difficult to know where to start in terms of describing the dining experience at Oak Bank. We had dined at Tom Kerridge's Hand and Flowers in Marlow (Michelin Two Stars) ten days before staying at Oak Bank. There is no doubt in my mind that The Dining Room at Oak Bank outstrips the Hand and Flowers by a very long way indeed. The food was simply first class ! ! !

We had stayed previously at this comfortable and slightly quirky Grasmere Hotel and had dined very well indeed so it was with some trepidation that we entered the Dining Room knowing that there was a new chef in situ.

However, we were absolutely bowled over by the quality of the food over two consective evenings. We deliberately chose differing first, main and dessert courses to sample the range of the menu. Without going into too much detail every single course eaten was outstanding. The great combination of flavours and textures and fine attention to detail in both presentation and delicate cooking were breathtaking.

Any serious foodie in the North of England (or the South for that matter!) should beat a path to this restaurant (open to non-residents) to sample the delights on offer from this very talented young chef !

Thanks again to Glynis and Simon at Oak Bank for another great stay - we will be back soon !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday in December. I'm so glad we did! The hotel itself is small but perfectly formed. Spotlessly clean, spacious room with a bed so comfortable I struggled to get out of it!! The staff are all lovely, very friendly, welcoming and down to earth and quite honestly cant do enough to help.
Now for the restaurant... what can I say that hasn't already been said? To feast on food this good you would need to go to a Michelin starred restaurant, probably suffer over stuffy service and be charged the earth. This truly was an experience! I have never tasted food like it! Every course was delicious and served up with a dramatic flourish, particularly the smoked guinea fowl which arrived in a swirl of smoke!! Amazing! I could go on all day, but I won't. To Darren, the chef...you are a genius, thank you! Jay Rayner's recent review was correct on all levels. All of the staff need a special mention. They are all lovely. Thank you so much Glynis and Simon for making our stay so memorable. We will definately be back.That's if of course we can get in!! What a shame we can't keep this place a secret!! From Steve and Lesley Ridgley x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Don't be deceived by your first impression when you walk into The Oak Bank. You may think this is a fairly standard, comfortable Lakes hotel; it isn't. It's so much more than you could possibly imagine.

Our room (room1) was small but comfortable and had everything needed. Tea and coffee are complimented by fresh milk served in a flask and there are other nice touches like a flask of sherry and shortbreads. (This room will be excellent in summer as it has a large balcony overlooking the gardens and stream).

The winner here though, by a country mile, is the dining experience. They have got a newish chef who creates dishes that defy belief and we found ourselves chuckling at how unbelievably good it was. I'm not going to pick out a particular course as, over the two days we were there, every single one was just amazing. The service is friendly but not intrusive and, again, there's lots of thoughtful extras like the delicious bread selection and canapés served in the bar.

I can't convey just how much we enjoyed ourselves and how far our expectations were exceeded. We will be back many times in the future, no doubt about that!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at the Oak Bank Hotel for two nights for my husband's birthday, on an excellent bed, breakfast and dinner deal. The hotel is warm and cosy, the superior room was spacious and comfortable. The owners are friendly and happy to chat and the waitress in the restaurant was lovely. The bar area has squishy sofas to relax into both before and after dinner. The restaurant offers beautifully presented a la carte food, which is delicious. Breakfast isn't bad either, with lots of choice! If you enjoy good food and comfortable surroundings, take a trip to the Oak Bank, it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sockmonstersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £113 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing