We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Excellent Stay”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel continues to offer very high standards. We enjoyed an excellent 4 days over New Year. Since our last visit the hotel has acquired a new Head Chef and team. The standard of food has been enhanced by this change and everybody is catered for whatever their taste.

This was our 5th year at the Oak Bank Hotel for New Year and we are now looking forward to the 6th. Simon and Glynis continue to carry the hotel forward and their work and that of their staff is much appreciated.

See you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCAnswers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have just returned from an over night stay at the Oakbank Hotel. This is our 6th stay at this hotel and we are already planning when we can go back.
Simon and Glenys always make us feel welcome , the rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean and the meals in the restaurant are lovely. What more do you want from a weekend away ?
If you're looking for a nice relaxing break you should definately consider the oakbank Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for two nights for my wife's 40th Birthday weekend and everything was fantastic. Rooms were all fabulous, my little surprise's for my wife's birthday were all catered for with no issues. The service was attentive but not intrusive and the food, out of this world. Some of the best food I have ever had. From the pre dinner snacks to the amuse bouche before the starter and the pre dessert taster, everything was wonderful. Ever plate of food a joy to the eye and the palate. Breakfast was also a joy. Would I stay here again, yes. Would I eat somewhere else in Grasmere, doubtful. Recommend this to anyone who enjoys good food in pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we stayed in 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at The Oak Bank Hotel at the beginning of December, & found the overall stay to be excellent. The owners were very welcoming & accommodating, the rooms were to a high standard, with little touches like a small decanter of sherry & homemade biscuits left in the room.
The food in the restaurant was something else, to find food like this in what we thought was a small hotel in the Lakes was surprising, it was fine dining to a very high standard. I am Coeliac & it was no trouble to them making sure my food was gluten free, even supplying an alternative appetiser, & adjusting desserts to accommodate my dietary requirements, they even supplied gluten free breads with dinner & breakfast. I could not fault the hotel or restaurant in any way & would highly recommend it, we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room (7) & the couple we were travelling with upgraded to a superior (5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22SS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the christmas fayres in the lakes. We had room 11 which was very nice, good size with comfortable bed. Bathroom good size with bath and over bath shower, could have done with a slight facelift but absolutely adequate.

Food was exceptional with plenty of choice and beautifully presented, same applies for breakfast too which is always a good test.

Hosts are knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful but completely unobtrusive.

We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with some close friends who have eaten at some high places. Having recommended this hotel because of the food we were worried that it did not live up to their expectations. We need not have worried and they can't wait to return.
My wife had had a recent knee replacement and we cannot thank them enough for their help with ice packs etc.
Thank you Oak Bank see you soon.

Room Tip: Go for superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Its difficult to know where to start in terms of describing the dining experience at Oak Bank. We had dined at Tom Kerridge's Hand and Flowers in Marlow (Michelin Two Stars) ten days before staying at Oak Bank. There is no doubt in my mind that The Dining Room at Oak Bank outstrips the Hand and Flowers by a very long way indeed. The food was simply first class ! ! !

We had stayed previously at this comfortable and slightly quirky Grasmere Hotel and had dined very well indeed so it was with some trepidation that we entered the Dining Room knowing that there was a new chef in situ.

However, we were absolutely bowled over by the quality of the food over two consective evenings. We deliberately chose differing first, main and dessert courses to sample the range of the menu. Without going into too much detail every single course eaten was outstanding. The great combination of flavours and textures and fine attention to detail in both presentation and delicate cooking were breathtaking.

Any serious foodie in the North of England (or the South for that matter!) should beat a path to this restaurant (open to non-residents) to sample the delights on offer from this very talented young chef !

Thanks again to Glynis and Simon at Oak Bank for another great stay - we will be back soon !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £107 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing