We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eric & Sue....Revisitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eric & Sue....Revisitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We visited Oakbank about three years ago and were so impressed that we said, in the visitors book, that we'd be back, so it was that we turned up on a damp afternoon in January.
We found the hotel to be most welcoming on such a grey day, with a roaring fire in the lounge, and a friendly reception at the desk.
The room we had [6a] was comfortable, clean and spacious, so much so that we had two large armchairs to relax in The bed must have been a 'superking' as it was the biggest we'd ever slept in [but comfortable with it]. More homely were the little touches provided, and the lovely dressing gowns.
Dining was just fabulous, from breakfast to dinner. Breakfast was lacking nothing and provided a perfect start to a days walking. Dinner was the high point of our stay. Highest quality ingredients cooked to perfection in the most imaginative way and presented superbly.[congratulations to a "magic"chef. This should not be missed.
Throughout our three day stay the staff were brilliant, nothing being too much trouble to them.

I've no doubt that we will make this a more frequent destination in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_knowles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    99
    23
    1
    5
See reviews for
55
496
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

From arrival to departure a truly outstanding experience. The customer service is an unresistable blend of professional efficiency combined with warmth and humour. The superior room was really nice but it was the food that makes this place so special. This was fine dining at it's best and must surely be quite unique in a hotel at anywhere near the price charged here. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgerovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Have just had a couple of great days. Don't be deterred by the modest facade of this hotel just enjoy the experience of having one of the best meals around. We have dined at Michelin star restaurants and most don't compare with the dining at the Oak Bank. Terrific value. The staff are great and the rooms are comfortable. Cosy open fire in the lounge and an ideal location in the middle of Grasmere.The Oak Bank is an informal delight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crail, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This Hotel is excellent, well run and friendly.
We had a lovely room, the restaurant had a very good and varied menu, "fine dining" absolutely.
The quality of the food was outstanding and modestly priced.
I would happily recommend the Oak Bank Hotel to anyone and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

One of the strengths of this hotel is that it is not in the least pretentious. It is warm and cosy in every sense and as someone who has enjoyed the New Year package for five consecutive years I can heartily recommend it. After spending the day walking in the fells it is a joy to return to a generous afternoon tea with a plentiful supply of home made cakes. Dinner is preceded by canapés and each course is presented on the plate like a work of art. Yes, the portions could be regarded by some as small, but the food is "real" food and is packed full of flavour. There is always an excellent choice on the menu so it is sometimes hard to choose. A generous supply of home made bread and flavoured butters accompany each meal. Service is relaxed and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast - again comprising quality ingredients - far surpassed the breakfast we were served in the "posh" hotel we stayed in en route to the Lakes.
The owners, Glynis & Simon make every effort to meet the needs of their guests from accommodating special diets, to facilitating the drying of rain-soaked coats, over trousers and boots. At New Year the special touches include a spectacular fireworks display and a quirky quiz.
Our room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and a good supply of pillows and cushions. The hospitality tray was well stocked. The little decanter of sherry is a nice touch.
The fact we have booked again for next year speaks for itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Oak Bank Hotel, Grasmere, booked under the name "Starkey", on 21st December 2013. I make this clear because my original review was "pulled" from TripAdvisor due( I believe) to the owners suspecting I had reviewed his hotel by mistake (he had contacted me to say so - is this allowed ?).
Anyway, stay we did, and so I will re submit another review ;
Initial impressions are of a decent standard B & B Guesthouse rather than a 3 Star Hotel (no lift, porterage, manned reception, and with no staff at all apparently living in overnight no-one to even call the emergency services if needed).
Our "Superior" room (No 4) was very clean and decently decorated with a nice bathroom. The small sherry decanter & biscuits a nice touch, but I personally did not like the milk provided in a metal jug / flask, it smelled "off", but probably wasn't - like the food, (more later), the idea was fine, the execution less so.
The evening meal ? - The presentation was excellent but I felt was at the expense of taste, finding the cuisine rather bland and tasteless, and , if I'm honest, if I'd enjoyed a long day fell walking I'd have wanted something more substantial than a "blade of beef" the size of a large Oxo cube with an upturned parsnip as my main course.
The service was excellent, the breakfast first class, but the dinner, to my taste, rather pretentious - if I wanted fine dining I would go to a 5 Star hotel or Michelin Star restaurant - full marks to the owners & chef in trying to raise the standards, but taste must rank equally with presentation, and, in addition, a more substantial alternative must be offered alongside to cater for all guest preferences, in my opinion.
I accept my comments are contrary to many other reviewers, but I speak (and write ) as I find and offer no apologies for doing so.
JKW 11

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JKW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
A view also contrary to JKW11’s Daughter and Son-In-Law, see ‘Spadrian’ 5 reviews below (if viewed in date posting order giving all 5’s out of 5 and a view contrary to his first review that gave 4 out of 5 with the title “Homely, Comfortable & Friendly.” The first line was “Stayed for one night and, as the heading suggests, found the hotel homely, friendly and comfortable. The staff were all very pleasant and efficient, with our room being spotlessly clean and well... “ Unfortunately that is all we have from our RSS feed which notifies us of TripAdvisor reviews. The only thing JKW11 commented about the food in his first review is that he found it too fancy for his taste, we are not going to manage to please everyone, we know that, but to show a different view, the Guardian Newspaper’s food critic Jay Rayner loved his food at Oak Bank, with possibly the most complimentary review he has ever written on 08/12/2013.

Having his review pulled by TripAdvisor (not by us - we cannot do that) has really angered JKW11 as he admitted in his message to us through the TripAdvisor messaging service which is evident in the way his new review is written and whilst he says he speaks and writes as he finds and offers no apologies for doing so, some comments need correction.

Oak Bank is an AA three star hotel with a high merit score of 81% and two Rosettes for culinary excellence. There is no requirement to have a lift at three star level unless we had bedrooms on a third floor – we do not have a third floor, plus with Oak Bank being a converted country house without major structural changes we could not accommodate a lift; we do offer assistance with guests luggage; no need to have a permanently manned reception at three star level; the owners Glynis & Simon live on site with their house linked up to the hotel with phones and alarms, in particular the fire alarm. If JKW11 had read even the first page of the guest information folder he would have seen that he could call the owners 24/7 and the emergency services directly with the phone in their bedroom.

So to the food, although his Daughter and Son-in-Law loved it, we cannot understand why he has said his blade of beef was the size of an Oxo cube? That just isn’t true, in fact it is slanderous. Nor was his main course just beef and parsnip, plus this is the main course of a five course meal, six if you include canapés!! He says he finds the food pretentious yet the review above this, viewed in date order, says in its opening line, “One of the strengths of this hotel is that it is not in the least pretentious.” Who is right? From viewing our website it is obvious what our food is like, both from the text and visuals, if that isn’t your thing then you know what to do. If it is we hope to look forward to welcoming you.

JKW11’s manner whilst at the hotel and also in his message to us is completely different to his review. His message finished with ‘thanks anyway for a lovely stay’. We are glad he enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked two nights at Oak Bank as a Christmas present to ourselves and stayed between Christmas and New Year as a way of relaxing after the chaos of entertaining Christmas Day and Boxing Day. It was the best decision.

We were in room 17 (ground floor with seating area and it's own door out to the parking area) which was very spacious. The room was sumptuously appointed with plush carpet, sofa, armchair and cushions. There was a jacuzzi bath which was most welcome after a day walking in the nearby hills. The room was slightly over furnished for our tastes but it was large enough to prevent feeling too cluttered.

A full size kettle made a pleasant change and with plenty of supplies of tea and 'proper' coffee we were both very happy. The homemade shortbreads (restocked on day two) were absolutely delicious.

We opted out of the Dinner part of the usual Dinner Bed & Breakfast on our first night so our experience of the food began at breakfast. And what a treat. Everything freshly cooked to order, nothing too much trouble and ample choice for one meat eater and one vegetarian. On our second night we had dinner in the hotel. It was absolutely superb. Neither of us have experienced a meal like this before. Beautifully presented, attention to detail that took your breath away and the intensity of the flavours was fabulous. We started with pre dinner drinks and nibbles in the lounge are where we could select our meal and drinks options before moving to the dining area when the food was ready. The presentation of the food reminded us of something you might see on Masterchef; a bit of foam here and little blobs of sauce there. I had thought that this style of eating would leave me hungry but actually the intensity of the flavours meant that this was not the case. Simply stunning.

The hotel is well positioned within easy walking distance of the centre of Grassmere and with walks galore straight from the door. The parking is limited but we were able to double park and move the next day to a space that was not blocking anyone in (in any event you can leave your keys if necessary). The staff were friendly and chatty despite obviously being very busy.

This was an expensive break for us the the value for money really comes from the standard of the food. The discount for opting out of the dinner does not reflect the incredible value the meal represents and I would recommend taking the dinner, bed & breakfast option every time.

Room Tip: You can view each room on the website and then select the one that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secretscot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing