We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top drawer food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top drawer food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Oak Bank fully warrants the fulsome praise that Jay Rayner has given it.Though the food is superb it is worth commenting on the whole experience of staying at the Oak Bank. From Marjorie on reception to Glynis and Simon you are made to feel especially welcome. They are in the process of updating the bedrooms (some have been refurbished); we had a tour of most of the rooms and would be happy to occupy all of them. The accolades are reserved for the food: it was exceptional. From the time to settling each evening in the bar to canopies, pre dinner drink choosing the wine from the wide ranging list to taking one's place in the dining room, it all feels special.We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose at least a superior room. We liked rooms 5 and 7 (not superior but with the best views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RICK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    98
    23
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
490
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

However you describe Oak Bank you are sure of a warm and relaxed welcome at Oak Bank. Small touches from a tiny decanter of sherry and home made biscuits on the tea tray in the room are always appreciated. Rooms are well decorated, Room 5 certainly had an elegant feel about it, but don't expect 5 star sterile accommodation. But, as most reviewers have said, it is the food that will bring you back time and again. Served with little fuss but with an appreciation of real quality, the £35 a head dinner menu is superb and the wine list, although not extensive, provides quality wines at reasonable prices, a delicious Sancerre for less that £30 a bottle. Thanks to our hosts Glynis and Simon for a lovelly weekend break and the sun shone too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

A wonderfully warm welcome greets you at the Oak Bank Hotel in the pretty village of Grasmere.
We booked room 1 (with balcony) which had a lovely view to the River Rothay. Little touches such as a flask of fresh milk and warm home-made biscuits really added to the room.
The décor is very much of a three-star standard however the owners really create an ambience lacking in many five star hotels, and I'm sure a refurbishment will come in time.
Like many others, we came for the food. Easily worth a Michelin star although that will not be forthcoming as there was no overbearing atmosphere with hovering staff! And I have genuinely no idea how they are doing it for £35/dinner. An amazing, well-priced wine list too.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Great-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I had a two night stay at the Oakbank Hotel and all I can say is we wished it had been longer. Wonderful food, amazing views and excellent service. Although we had a rather small room it couldn't have been more comfortable with lovely views. a very comfy bed and just right for our needs. The family run Hotel is so pretty and all your needs are met as soon as you check in!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at Oak Bank for 3 nights over a busy weekend.We have visited before and always intended to return and were certainly not disappointed this time. We booked a superior room 4 with a bath which was very welcome after walking quite some distance.The bed was very comfy and the room clean and spacious.Parking was not a problem it was explained to us that they have a system for moving cars and it is simple enough to leave your car keys at reception in case of double parking.Our dining experience was a wow and Simon and Glynis coped admirably with waiting on tables and yet not being too aloof to have a quick chat if it was required.A special mention for their granddaughter who was helping out over the weekend. She is a credit to them.Simon helped us choose an excellent wine to compliment our meal he obviously takes great pride in keeping a good cellar.The cost of a dinner,bed and breakfast package in comparison to some highly over rated hotels in the Lake District is unbeatable. We were made to feel very at home and hope to return sooner rather than later.Thank you to all the staff.
Mr and Mrs Simpkins Co. Durham

Room Tip: Room 4 Very little street noise at the front of the house and lovely to sit in the window seat with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevillesimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Booked this following Jay Rayner's review - like so many others! But we weren't disappointed. The food is the outstanding experience of this hotel but it is an excellent experience in many ways.
We booked the Acorn suite and it was very comfortable - no views but in March not an issue and if you visited in better months there is a lovely garden to sit in. It is a spacious room with good seating area, very comfortable and large bed and very responsive heating. The bath does take a while to fill and the spa element can be rather enthusiastic if not carefully controlled - but that's down to the user not the bath! Sherry and homemade shortbread excellent.
Both lounges are very welcoming and comfortable, especially for pre dinner drinks (sorry the Langtons was out of stock - other visitors obviously appreciate this excellent gin too!) and nibbles. The menu is great - a course labelled 'Pig' is one of the best things I have ever eaten - but everything we had ( and between us we tried to sample the menu widely) was delicious. Don't forget the amuses bouches, the different breads and flavoured butters, the pre-dessert, the truffles with coffee - I don't know how the kitchen does it and how they keep the prices at the level they do.
I know one review complained about portion sizes - well, they're not huge, but all the better for it. The flavours are so intense but well balanced and with all the extras as mentioned, you would be very greedy to be able to eat more!
Breakfast was equally delicious - a very minor quibble and I'm sorry I didn't raise it at the time - lovely breads at dinner but like lots of other good hotels, why sliced bread for toast? Though the marmalade and jams were lovely! Great coffee too.
The staff we met were unfailingly pleasant, polite and efficient - and extremely hardworking.
They deserve the Jay Rayner accolade and I hope they continue to maintain this excellent standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We could not fault Oak Bank on any count. Warm reception by Marjorie, continued helpfulness by Glynis and Simon and staff , lovely room - worth the little extra for superior plus - comfortable lounges and nice dining room. And then of course there was the food! That was why we came and we were not disappointed on either night. Wonderful textures and tastes and a joy to behold. Above all we felt comfortable, no pretentiousness - just very genuine hospitality.. Thank you and we have recommended to several already.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing