We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
618
105
26
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
618
105
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of sherryamuse bouchefantastic foodfresh milkhomemade shortbreaddining experiencesmall hotellittle touchesfine dininglake districtowners and staffevening mealwine listfriendly hotelstandard roomdining roomlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose to stay at the Oak bank mainly because of the reviews on this site and we were not dissappointed. The hotel itself is a typical small Lake Distict hotel built out of the local slate and from the exterior hasn't changed much since the last time we stayed there over 25 years ago.
What sets this hotel apart from the others is the food and service.
As others have said, the dining experience was exeptional, and the little touches such as the small decanter of sherry and home made short bread in the room every day made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_m_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We really enjoyed our four-night break, in celebration of our 35th wedding anniversary. The owners and staff were friendly and attentive, but not too formal, which made for a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Breakfast was a marvellous start to the day, excellent variety. The evening meals looked and tasted wonderful. We loved the homemade shortbreads and glass of sherry renewed in our room every day. The room was warm and cosy, with plenty of storage space. We had read the reviews before booking and everything lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Oak Bank Hotel for four nights and were delighted with our find. We'd come across it via a review by Jay Rayner in the Observer, which focused on the food - a big attraction when you are planning to be out walking all day. We were not disappointed. The entire food experience was wonderful, starting with an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, and plenty of fresh fruit. Dinner was a real treat, and excellent value for money. We were given canapés in the bar while choosing from the menu. First up was an amuse bouche which ranged from parsnip mousse with parsnip crisps to mushroom veloute with a mini croque monsieur. Then starters: quail breast and leg confit with accompanying miniature pickled vegetables for example. Main courses were delicious: slow cooked pork with sage and onion gnocchi, and monkfish wrapped in Parma ham with little shrimp tortellini, just two examples. A pre-dessert followed (apricot compote; apple crumble with cinnamon pannacotta and others), then dessert or cheese board (small supplement). The only thing we would note is that the dinner menu is not really suitable for vegetarians - but you may be able to ask in advance for veggie alternatives, of course.

Staff were friendly and helpful, with the owners Simon and Glynis providing front of house, bar and table service with assistance from a lovely receptionist. There were some really nice touches, like offering to fill your flask with tea or coffee, and the rooms had hospitality trays with homemade biscuits and sherry as well as the usual tea and coffee.

Our room was not large, but was nicely fitted out and had a great view, and was kept clean and fresh daily.

We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Look on the website to choose a room as there is plenty of information to help: ours was at the back and was very quiet. No lift.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy_1954_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have stayed in many places in the Lakes and this has to be one of the best. The food was exceptional and incredibly good value for money. The room was comfortable with lovely home baked biscuits and a glass of sherry to welcome you back from a long walk. I would highly recommend it. We were made to feel very welcome and had a wonderful time. The Hotel is well situated in the lovely village of Grasmere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The food is, of course, excellent, as many other reviewers have pointed out, but the service is brilliant also - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed for two nights, eating on both evenings. The food was so gorgeous I really did want to lick the plate, and I still bore my friends talking about it. The room was on the small side, but we knew that when we booked it. It was very well organised, however, so you never felt constricted, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is obviously room for improvement; we were near the boiler, for example, which could be quite loud, presumably when lots of people were taking a shower. I am giving the hotel an excellent rating overall, however, because issues like this really are minor next to the overwhelming positives. My partner and I loved the place so much we have already booked another 5 days in July.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews