We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have been visiting this hotel since finding it six years ago when Glynis and Simon Wood took over and have always really enjoyed our stay. We were a little worried this year prior to our visit as we knew there had been a change of chef since last year and thought the food quality would be difficult to match!

We need not have worried we didn't think it could get any better but it did! The only word to describe the food was Superb! Once again the wonderful service from Glynis Simon and their staff was much appreciated and we look forward to our next visit very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAHWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend. The hotel is well situated in the heart of Grasmere, with all shops, restaurants etc close by. We are keen walkers and found the location to be ideal for setting off on our daily walk after breakfast each day.
We checked in and were shown to our room. The receptionist was warm and friendly. The room was very nice and a good size. We were in Room 6 which was at the front of the hotel. Although facing the road, there were no noise issues and we slept well in the comfy bed. Nice little touches like homemade biscuits and port were much appreciated.
Our evening meals in The Dining Room were fantastic. The quality,flavours and presentation were of Michelin standard and the Jay Rayner review says it all. I am sure that Darren, the chef is destined for real stardom.
The owners, Glynnis and Simon, work extremely hard to provide a relaxing and happy time for their guests and look after their every need.
We had a lovely weekend and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukwilkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have not stayed at Oak Bank before but really enjoyed the experience. Depositing offspring at Uni, as hardened walkers we continued to The Lakes to make the most of the intermittent sunshine and head into the high fells. Having arrived mid morning we were able to reserve our dinner time and leave the car out front. Returning scruffy and tired the bath was welcome and hot and the fab toiletries both necessary and luxurious. Starving and ready for alcoholic refreshment we were able to enjoy a glass of well chosen red wine , perusing the menu before being shown to our table and reunited with the bottle. The food was truly delicious, vegetarian for one and carnivorous for t'other. Course after course to satisfy even the hungriest of walkers appetites. The best nights sleep had in a hotel for a long time and then breakfast. Wow, kept us going for most of the walk, finally had a bite to eat on our descent mid afternoon and that is amazing.
The owners were non obtrusive and with a good sense of humour. The rain softly drumming the conservatory roof gave us a chance to discuss the merits of hotel fine dining over camping . No debate.
Both walks were from the door and we didn't need to shift the car, a real bonus. There is walking for all abilities and tastes from Grasmere which makes the position outstanding.
We loved our stay , thank you and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WK0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arranged a long weekend break with friends from work and was recommended staying at the Oak Bank. Managed to get four rooms (each the best one - according to each couple!) and arrived Friday afternoon to a warm welcome and check in.

Having done our usual stroll around Rydal and back (via the badger of course) we settled in for the evening. Had been advised the food was good but what we got was better than good - it was even better than Roux at Parliament Square which I honestly believed at the time was the best meal I would ever eat.

The drinks selection to support the food was equally good as was the knowledge of Simon the owner who was very hands on and excellent in recommending wines to go with the dishes we had.

Despite a wet day for our "long walk" we were again comforted by good food and wine for another night before heading home.

Oak Bank isn't the biggest hotel in Grasmere but it is the best I've stayed in with respect to the food and the personal touch from the owner - well worth using as a base for Lakeland adventures.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polotoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just spent two nights here at the hotel with my wife. Grasmere is a lovely place and this hotel is positioned in a perfect place just off the square. The hotel is homely with a comfortable lounge and bar area. Our room had an excellent view of the surrounding Lake District scenery . Free Wi Fi in the room was very welcome. The reception was welcoming and all staff were friendly.
I must then come to the food. It was excellent as good as any quality restaurant. We were so glad we had come " half board " . The wine list was extensive and a good selection of Lakeland ales. Breakfast was first class . To walk in the fabulous Lake District and return to food of this quality takes some beating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived on Friday afternoon to a lovely welcome from the lady on reception. Following a short walk and a couple of very nice pints at the Badger at Rydal Mount we returned to the hotel for Dinner. Other than a minor misunderstanding the service was excellent and the food was even better. I would recommend anyone should add this restaurant to your list of "must do's" if staying near Grasmere. Breakfast on Saturday was excellent, however a slight menu change for Saturday night saw Rabbit being added which I couldn't resist. It was superb. Everyone claimed to have chosen the best meal but with such good food everyone's a winner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having had the most wonderful experience in the restaurant We decided to stay this time,yet again, a fantastic welcome The food was just as good as our first visit In fact a perfect experienceThe couple who run this place really have it nailed.Every area is more than covered The young people who also work there are so very well trained.How to present the courses,they also know their stuff.The third visit will be in two weeks time Truly well worth a visit and exceptionally fantasic value for moneyGo there !!!!!.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averyfunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £112 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing