We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bank Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$174
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
616
105
26
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
616
105
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of sherryamuse bouchefantastic foodfresh milkhomemade shortbreaddining experiencesmall hotellittle touchesfine dininglake districtowners and staffevening mealwine listfriendly hotelstandard roomdining roomlog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I have just stayed again for two nights after a lovely two-night stay in March.As before, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

If I say that the food is outstanding - and it is - this should not detract from the fact that the hotel itself is very nice. It has a comfortable ambiance; the staff are all friendly and helpful; and the lovely garden at the back is an added attraction in the summer.

Room Tip: The small rooms really are small: try to book a larger one if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had better first explain the title: we loved the owners uncompromising approach to smoking in the hotel. The section in the welcome book to do with smoking was a joy to read, both from the point of view as non-smokers ourselves but also the honesty with which the owners explain their stance.

Okay, now the important stuff. Oak Bank Hotel is well located in beautiful Grasmere, within a minutes stroll of the village centre. The building itself is well maintained, and our room had one of the most comfortable beds we have experienced in any hotel. The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were both spick and span.

The restaurant was, in part, a large conservatory, and the kitchen produced good food from a reasonably diverse menu. A good wine list added to our enjoyment - as well as a good range of Lakeland beers.

We would definitely recommend Oak Bank, and will no-doubt be staying there again ourselves. Especially as there is little chance of breathing secondary cigarette smoke:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I booked the Oak Bank Hotel on the strength of the reviews of its food, I wasn't disappointed. The hotel itself is not the main attraction although the room we had was fit for purpose & did have a lovely view of the Lakeland hills (room 7). The attention to detail made the weekend, the food was delicious & the little extra touches made it special. We had a great weekend, 'conquering' Helvellyn, the start point of which is only a short drive away & walking to Easedale Tarn on Sunday morning. Grasmere itself is well worth a visit - one of those places that when you visit makes you question why you ever go abroad for your holiday. I booked the hotel for my partner's birthday, we are planning to return next year to enjoy the food & climb Scafell.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view of the hills & windows on two sides
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricicles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked the night before for a last minute weekend away. Our only option was dinner, bed and breakfast.... We weren't all that keen on this for both nights as we like to have options to try other places, however it did say on booking that we could cancel 1 night if we preferred which we decided to do and just go with 1 night dinner. We took the dinner option on our first night..... The food was absolutely outstanding, to be honest the best meal myself and my partner have ever had. Every course from start to finish was unbelievable and all added extras just made it that bit more special. The food was so good on our first evening and thankfully we choose to have the meal on night 1 that we requested to have the meal again on night too and again we were so pleased we did.

Not that it mattered as we did choose different things on both night but it maybe would have been nice to see a different menu as it was a Friday and Saturday evening.

The accommodation is in a great location, central to the village and all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was room 12 (which is advertised as a small double), it was on the small side but was ok for us. The room itself was very nice however I think the bathroom is in need of updating.

A lovely added extra was the homemade shortbread daily and the cold fresh milk.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to recommend... Especially the food.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carrie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The food was excellent. a real fine dining experience. A very extensive breakfast choice. The staff could not be nicer and location brilliant.

As in a previous review room 15 was very hot! I would have asked to move rooms if we had been staying more than one night. a shame in an otherwise large beautiful and comfortable room. Next time I will request a different room.

Room Tip: Not room 15 in summer
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews