We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect visit”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A home from home. Clean from top to bottom. The staff are all so attentive and friendly. The restaurant produces the most amazing meals. Cant wait to stay again. Can not recommend enough. The breakfast was very good also

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

After a third day of walking in what felt like blistering heat from Saint Bees, the Oak Bank Hotel provided just the break we needed to get back on track onwards to Patterdale.

Arriving fairly late on in the day and with no prior booking, we wandered around Grasmere looking for a spare room... truth be told, I think we may have been turned away from a couple of the other nearby establishments simply for looking a little unkempt after a day of walking with a full sized pack on.

Luckily enough for us, the Oak Bank Hotel had one room left over - we'd missed the evening meal, so we got a reduction on the rate as well, which was greatly appreciated.

The room itself was in excellent condition and also included a small flask of sherry and some freshly homemade shortbread, a lovely additional touch.

The breakfast included a good selection of cooked and uncooked offerings, however I was most impressed with the evening meal on our second night, which was above and beyond what I was expecting. Alongside a wide range of options for the entre, main and desert courses, there was an additional watercress amuse-bouche and a grapefruit sorbet pallet cleanser between courses. The only aspect of the evening meal that wasn't already included in the nightly stay rate was an (optional) cheese course after the desert. Very impressed on the food front in particular and would highly recommend Oak Bank Hotel for any food lover!

All in all, a couple of good night's sleep in a clean room, friendly staff and excellent food at a reasonable cost (though definitely above my budget for the trip!). I'd highly recommend this as accommodation in the Grasmere area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Zabuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel at home. We were shown to our room which was the standard we expected for a 3 Star hotel. It was clean and well equipped with a large comfortable bed. We had dinner in the restaurant and from the amuse bouche and beautiful home made breads and flavoured butters to the lovely deserts the food was delicious and well worth the rave reviews it receives. Service was also excellent and the wine list was very reasonably priced and of a good variety. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I have just stayed again for two nights after a lovely two-night stay in March.As before, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

If I say that the food is outstanding - and it is - this should not detract from the fact that the hotel itself is very nice. It has a comfortable ambiance; the staff are all friendly and helpful; and the lovely garden at the back is an added attraction in the summer.

Room Tip: The small rooms really are small: try to book a larger one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had better first explain the title: we loved the owners uncompromising approach to smoking in the hotel. The section in the welcome book to do with smoking was a joy to read, both from the point of view as non-smokers ourselves but also the honesty with which the owners explain their stance.

Okay, now the important stuff. Oak Bank Hotel is well located in beautiful Grasmere, within a minutes stroll of the village centre. The building itself is well maintained, and our room had one of the most comfortable beds we have experienced in any hotel. The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were both spick and span.

The restaurant was, in part, a large conservatory, and the kitchen produced good food from a reasonably diverse menu. A good wine list added to our enjoyment - as well as a good range of Lakeland beers.

We would definitely recommend Oak Bank, and will no-doubt be staying there again ourselves. Especially as there is little chance of breathing secondary cigarette smoke:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I booked the Oak Bank Hotel on the strength of the reviews of its food, I wasn't disappointed. The hotel itself is not the main attraction although the room we had was fit for purpose & did have a lovely view of the Lakeland hills (room 7). The attention to detail made the weekend, the food was delicious & the little extra touches made it special. We had a great weekend, 'conquering' Helvellyn, the start point of which is only a short drive away & walking to Easedale Tarn on Sunday morning. Grasmere itself is well worth a visit - one of those places that when you visit makes you question why you ever go abroad for your holiday. I booked the hotel for my partner's birthday, we are planning to return next year to enjoy the food & climb Scafell.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view of the hills & windows on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricicles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked the night before for a last minute weekend away. Our only option was dinner, bed and breakfast.... We weren't all that keen on this for both nights as we like to have options to try other places, however it did say on booking that we could cancel 1 night if we preferred which we decided to do and just go with 1 night dinner. We took the dinner option on our first night..... The food was absolutely outstanding, to be honest the best meal myself and my partner have ever had. Every course from start to finish was unbelievable and all added extras just made it that bit more special. The food was so good on our first evening and thankfully we choose to have the meal on night 1 that we requested to have the meal again on night too and again we were so pleased we did.

Not that it mattered as we did choose different things on both night but it maybe would have been nice to see a different menu as it was a Friday and Saturday evening.

The accommodation is in a great location, central to the village and all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was room 12 (which is advertised as a small double), it was on the small side but was ok for us. The room itself was very nice however I think the bathroom is in need of updating.

A lovely added extra was the homemade shortbread daily and the cold fresh milk.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to recommend... Especially the food.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carrie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,629 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £68 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and Dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette and Michelin Plate awarded beautiful Dining Room and Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing