We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Balfron
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Having been attracted to the hotel after coming across Jay Rayner's review in the Guardian (http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/dec/08/oak-bank-hotel-grasmere-lake-district-restaurant-review-jay-Rayner) some time ago we were expecting some excellent food and were in no way disappointed. Just about Michelin-star quality without the front of house fussiness so many high-end restaurants suffer from. Truly outstanding and very reasonably priced - good selection of well-priced wines, as well.

We received a very warm welcome, with the aforementioned, elsewhere, sherry and shortbread a nice touch. Room, though small, was well appointed, and the bed very comfortable.

Simon, the owner, welcomed us warmly in the lounge before dinner and the pre-ordering process was as you would expect in any high-class establishment. Service in the restaurant was tight and efficient - nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was, as you would expect after the quality of the evening meal, excellent with a first-class choice - my wife isn't a pudding person but loved the 'peach' choice.

Glynis, Simon's wife, found time after dinner to have a nice friendly chat.

We'll be back and intend to recommend the hotel to our large family who do lots of travelling and anyone else who we feel might appreciate it.

Not everyone might share our experience - I feel sorry for Mr Tickle, but then again he obviously has high standards if he describes the food as nice enough. There was one other comment in the hotel's comments book that was negative, but hey ho, that's life (when discussing it with Glynis, she explained the situation and she accepted that some people are impossible to please).

Great hotel, great food, a welcoming environment. What's not to like.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    98
    23
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
490
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We felt unwelcome from the moment we arrived. Maybe it was because my 13 year old son was with us . We felt invisible. Our room was terrible, a converted garage , I think , with 3 beds crammed in . The bathroom was not clean. Underneath the step to the bath there was dirt and hairs. The toilet rim was filthy. The decor in the room was dated and it was depressing to be in. We left after enduring 2 nights of misery. The fine dining was tasty but was served in a rude , abrupt manner which was uncomfortable. It was like an old people's home but probably far quiter. You had to whisper every time you talked. Please get some joy , laughter and atomosphere , we don't all want a sedate experience. We will certainly never return and it will take a while to return to feeling happy again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
37 Thank MissMollyPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakBankHotel, Owner at Oak Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
This review and the one below have been written by the same people for the same stay in the same room. Our relatively new housekeeper was not aware that the heavy box step to get in the bath was not permanently fixed in place and it is true that there was some dirt and hair, this has been cleaned and for that we are very sorry. We would dispute every other comment. The room the grandmother, mother and son stayed in is our best room – the Acorn Suite and can be viewed on our website. Vi Spring beds, Winsor Ocaso hand crafted furniture, Laura Ashley Isodore wallpaper, cream silk heavily interlined curtains, cream deep pile carpet…we could go on.

The review is similar to the nasty comment that the mother left in our visitor book, we have left that in for all to see, the next guest to write in it wrote ‘Did the people above really stay here?’ Unfortunately for us they did.

We hope that the couple of reasons they gave for leaving which were nothing to do with their stay or the hotel but about the loss of a family member and the health of a sister is true or that really would be despicable.

We all tried hard to please these people, our Receptionist commented to us before she left for the day, the day they had checked in that we would struggle with them, but as in the review above this when viewed in date order says, some people are impossible to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A home from home. Clean from top to bottom. The staff are all so attentive and friendly. The restaurant produces the most amazing meals. Cant wait to stay again. Can not recommend enough. The breakfast was very good also

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After a third day of walking in what felt like blistering heat from Saint Bees, the Oak Bank Hotel provided just the break we needed to get back on track onwards to Patterdale.

Arriving fairly late on in the day and with no prior booking, we wandered around Grasmere looking for a spare room... truth be told, I think we may have been turned away from a couple of the other nearby establishments simply for looking a little unkempt after a day of walking with a full sized pack on.

Luckily enough for us, the Oak Bank Hotel had one room left over - we'd missed the evening meal, so we got a reduction on the rate as well, which was greatly appreciated.

The room itself was in excellent condition and also included a small flask of sherry and some freshly homemade shortbread, a lovely additional touch.

The breakfast included a good selection of cooked and uncooked offerings, however I was most impressed with the evening meal on our second night, which was above and beyond what I was expecting. Alongside a wide range of options for the entre, main and desert courses, there was an additional watercress amuse-bouche and a grapefruit sorbet pallet cleanser between courses. The only aspect of the evening meal that wasn't already included in the nightly stay rate was an (optional) cheese course after the desert. Very impressed on the food front in particular and would highly recommend Oak Bank Hotel for any food lover!

All in all, a couple of good night's sleep in a clean room, friendly staff and excellent food at a reasonable cost (though definitely above my budget for the trip!). I'd highly recommend this as accommodation in the Grasmere area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zabuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

From the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel at home. We were shown to our room which was the standard we expected for a 3 Star hotel. It was clean and well equipped with a large comfortable bed. We had dinner in the restaurant and from the amuse bouche and beautiful home made breads and flavoured butters to the lovely deserts the food was delicious and well worth the rave reviews it receives. Service was also excellent and the wine list was very reasonably priced and of a good variety. We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I have just stayed again for two nights after a lovely two-night stay in March.As before, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

If I say that the food is outstanding - and it is - this should not detract from the fact that the hotel itself is very nice. It has a comfortable ambiance; the staff are all friendly and helpful; and the lovely garden at the back is an added attraction in the summer.

Room Tip: The small rooms really are small: try to book a larger one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had better first explain the title: we loved the owners uncompromising approach to smoking in the hotel. The section in the welcome book to do with smoking was a joy to read, both from the point of view as non-smokers ourselves but also the honesty with which the owners explain their stance.

Okay, now the important stuff. Oak Bank Hotel is well located in beautiful Grasmere, within a minutes stroll of the village centre. The building itself is well maintained, and our room had one of the most comfortable beds we have experienced in any hotel. The bedroom and adjoining bathroom were both spick and span.

The restaurant was, in part, a large conservatory, and the kitchen produced good food from a reasonably diverse menu. A good wine list added to our enjoyment - as well as a good range of Lakeland beers.

We would definitely recommend Oak Bank, and will no-doubt be staying there again ourselves. Especially as there is little chance of breathing secondary cigarette smoke:-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing