We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in March this year for the first time at this hotel. It is the first time we have stayed in a hotel in the Lake District as we always camp but decided to treat ourselves this time and what a treat it was. The location, setting and style of hotel is fantastic. The rooms in the hotel were faultless and the decor all fresh and to a very good standard. The bedroom was lovely, we had a superior room on the front of the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. We also had our dog staying with us which worked out well and its nice to know we have somewhere in the Lakes we can take the dog with us. There is a recreation ground 1 minute walk away from the hotel so it makes it easy having somewhere for the dog to stretch it's legs! The walks you can do from the hotel are amazing, and you need not take your car out again if you do not want to.

We stayed dinner bed and breakfast for all 5 nights and found this to be very good value. We could not fault the food at all. The whole process for breakfast and dinner was seamless. The staff work incredibly hard and seem to anticipate your ever need. The food options for both breakfast and dinner are superb and we were never disappointed. The evening menu was a great chance to try something you wouldn't usually cook yourself.

I would not hesistate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyloWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    98
    23
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
490
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

The food is just as good as everyone else has said - it is easy to forget that you are in a 2 star hotel. Our room was fine, the only slight disappointment being that the view to the rear of the hotel was blocked by the annex building. It was our first time here but most other guests had been here before.

It is in a great location on the northern edge of the village, only a couple of minutes walk to the centre. The jigsaw shop is a few doors away and well worth a visit if you have not been before. We did a variety of walks over the 4 days were there and did not need to use our car once. Also, there are lots of tea shops where you can reward yourself with a cake after your walk!

We got a off season / mid-week special so it really was good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

A beautiful hotel, stunning surrounds and award winning food!! A real home from home that's tucked away in the heart of Grasmere. The owners could not have been more welcoming & helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout & our room was lovely. And the food. Oh the food. An all inclusive 4 course meal where the food is quite simply, stunning. Having eaten in many top restaurants around the world, this really hits the top spot. The food is award winning & with a different delicious menu every night, you're guaranteed to return home a few pounds heaver. What with beautiful walks and mountain bike routes just a stones throw from the front door, this really is a Gem of a place to stay!! It's amazing value for money and you won't be disappointed - We're already planning our next trip!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredfrog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

I stayed here for one night with a friend, it was my first time at Oak Bank but it definitely won't be the last. The hotel is comfortable and cosy with a fabulous open log fire in the main lounge. Our room was well furnished and very clean with nice extra touches such as bottled water and complimentary sherry on arrival.
Our evening meal was outstanding from the canapes to the "to die for" dessert. We also enjoyed a very nice and reasonably priced bottle of wine. Simon and Glynis as stated in other reviews seem to have achieved the balance of professional and friendly service and all the staff we met were equally excellent.
Breakfast next morning was perfect and I liked the fact that the back of the menu gives details of where the various "foods" are sourced with the emphasis being on local produce.
All in all an excellent hotel and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Just come back from a great weekend in the Lakes. The hotel was perfect , the food superb and the staff very helpful.Even the weather was great!!!
Will certainly return

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KramRolyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

22/25 Feb 10

Room 15 was delightfully presented and spacious. The food was excellent.

We found Simon to be extremely attentive and friendly and were mystified to read the review by the previous occupants of the room.

This was our third visit and the first stay at the hotel with the current owners. We would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break in the Lakes.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_and_A_EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We returned with extended family to celebrate a birthday of an elderly relative. Despite the large group (15) we had a large table set in the conservatory giving privacy for the event. Our selections from the evening menu all arrived together throughout the courses. Our compliments to the chef whose repertoire has developed further than on previous visits providing the 'icing on the cake' for a sumptuous meal. The friendly attentive staff made the stay comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to staying with you again. Thank-you Glynis and Simon for our celebratory weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Property: Oak Bank Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing