We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed blessings”

Heidi's of Grasmere
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A charming, fully licensed cafe in the heart of the picturesque village of Grasmere. All ingredients are locally sourced and our delicious homemade cakes are a speciality. We sell over 40 marmalade flavours and stock a great selection of locally brewed ales. A warm welcome awaits.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed blessings”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely looking tearoom with only 4 tables inside, which is much smaller than the last time we visited. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not the usual 'cheese with everything' menu choices which is refreshing, but is rather pricey, especially compared with other eateries in the village.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    76
    31
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tiny and cramped - only saving grace that lured us in was that it allows dogs inside. Paid almost £7 for a pasty with inedible pastry - could only eat the filling. Nothing said when they cleared the plates. Oh had Cumberland sausage, with the texture of leather. Better places nearby - won't return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanzafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Way to Expensive”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

What more can I say £2.85 for a thimble of cappaceno £2.65 for a toasted tea cake I know it's Grasmere is not cheap but come on this is a Robbery

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bertibasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadmayne, Dorchester,Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We felt very welcome and our dog was given her own biscuit. I had a coffee and a slice of carrot cake which was excellent, well done will return next time we are here on holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin7139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty cafe but very overpriced for what you get.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Pretty decor and dog friendly but paid nearly £7 for a pasty, and almost £8 for a scrawny panini. Place looks lovely but food does not live up to expectations :(
I appreciate we would expect to pay more just for being in grasmere and would be happy to do so if the food had lived up to expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndsayandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidi's of Grasmere also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Heidi's of Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing