We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & tasty lunch”

Heidi's of Grasmere
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A charming, fully licensed cafe in the heart of the picturesque village of Grasmere. All ingredients are locally sourced and our delicious homemade cakes are a speciality. We sell over 40 marmalade flavours and stock a great selection of locally brewed ales. A warm welcome awaits.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful & tasty lunch”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the negative reviews as they bear no relation to this high quality establishment. We came in for a coffee but decided to have lunch and were not disappointed. We had a Cumberland sausage baguette and a pulled pork & apple sauce one. They come cut in two so we had half each. They were utterly delicious and the Cumberland sausage was the best I have tasted. The lemon slice, tea & coffee were excellent too. My wife likes her coffee on the hotter side and the owner was only too happy to make another - even though we had let it get cold!
There's a nice gift section & very clean toilets through the back too.
Heidi's is well worth a visit & one of the delights of Grasmere. You will not be disappointed - go for the Cumberland - it's the greatest!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    76
    31
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'What a let down'”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my family decided to try a different cafe in Grasmere and came across Heidi's Cafe. It was lovely inside. Lot's of trinkets to look at. We then waited 15 minutes to be served. The cafe wasn't busy. They got our order mixed up and we had to send the food back. Then when we came to pay they had left items off the bill. I was shocked at the price to! It came to £24 for 2 bacon sandwiches, a hog roast sandwich, 2 teas and a hot chocolate. Very over priced. It's such a shame because it's lovely inside. I won't be in a hurry to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brill!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided we would drive through to Grasmere on our way home. We parked our car in the garden centre car park and headed into the centre of the village

We decided to pop into Heidi's because we noticed they did sandwiches to take away and they had a HUGE selection of jars. We were greeted by a friendly smile and hello! We looked at the jars and we noticed there was a deal on if you buy 3 jars. We selected our 3 and made our way over to the counter to decide what we wanted for our brunch! There was a nice selection of sandwiches available that had been freshly made up that morning, we decided to go for a cheese & ham baguette and a tuna mayo baguette.

The lady took our payment and we headed off back to the car. We sat in the car as it was starting to rain quite heavily! We took a bite out of our baguettes and looked at each other, they were so delicious!

Will be back again soon!

Adam & Paula

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor takeaway food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have been using Heidi's to purchase sandwiches and cake during our cycling trips and always found the quality to be excellent. However this year things have changed. The sandwich filing options were much reduced and the bread of poor quality. All in all very tasteless. The cakes appear to be unchanged but something seems to have changed for the worse at this place. I hope it can be put right soon as I fear this business will suffer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old fashion tea room”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a great little cafe with very friendly service very shabby chic.There are great gifts to buy it's also dog friendly which is a great bonus after a long walk from ambleside.the staff are very friendly loved the old guy who served us he was a great character he loved my jack russell daisy .Well worth a visit u won't be dissapointed it really is like going back in time we will be going back many time for a lovely snack .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidi's of Grasmere also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Heidi's of Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing