We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish. And lovely friendly people”

Heidi's of Grasmere
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A charming, fully licensed cafe in the heart of the picturesque village of Grasmere. All ingredients are locally sourced and our delicious homemade cakes are a speciality. We sell over 40 marmalade flavours and stock a great selection of locally brewed ales. A warm welcome awaits.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delish. And lovely friendly people”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

It seems to me the reviewers being negative would feel more at home in a McDonalds.

The "brusque" waiter clearly has special needs and it's great that Heidi's is giving him a chance. Yes he can come across as a bit short but both he and the rest of the staff have great personalities and looked after its really well.

The food was great too. I had hog roast baguette which was delish! Chocolate shake was nice too.

A little pricey, but I've experienced much worse value for money.

All in a lovely little place for lunch.

Helpful?
2 Thank JoffyJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    75
    31
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
camberley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very hospitable place to go”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Heidi's is a very pleasant place to go the atmosphere in the place is very welcoming and the staff are exceptionally help full friendly and pleasant.There is a wide chose to choose from on the menu so if you can not find any thing that you like then the the person must be very fussy and extremely hard to please. The cakes are very more-ish and tatasty.
There is always a big welcome for the dogs as well as this is a dog frendly place.
A very high standerd and quality is alway given in Heidi's. We only go to Heidi's when in Grasmere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our experience was poor”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We choose Heidi's because it looked so inviting. Just gone 4pm and we were looking forward to tea and a slice cake after our journey.
The gentleman who served us was brusque in manner and service. For 2 teas and 1 slice cake it was £9.45 -- over priced for a poor experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parfittm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch at Heidi's Place”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a lovely lunch at Heidi's Place. The weather was pretty miserable outside but the staff and the atmosphere at Heidi's was very welcoming. The food choice was good, very tasty. We will definitely be back next time we're in or passing through Grasmere. Lovely little gift shop too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurrayTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful & tasty lunch”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I can't understand the negative reviews as they bear no relation to this high quality establishment. We came in for a coffee but decided to have lunch and were not disappointed. We had a Cumberland sausage baguette and a pulled pork & apple sauce one. They come cut in two so we had half each. They were utterly delicious and the Cumberland sausage was the best I have tasted. The lemon slice, tea & coffee were excellent too. My wife likes her coffee on the hotter side and the owner was only too happy to make another - even though we had let it get cold!
There's a nice gift section & very clean toilets through the back too.
Heidi's is well worth a visit & one of the delights of Grasmere. You will not be disappointed - go for the Cumberland - it's the greatest!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidi's of Grasmere also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Heidi's of Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing