We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Enjoyed our evening meal here as we were staying at the Hotel. Could not have asked for more from the choice and quality of the food, the presentation, the service from the staff everything was 5 star will definately return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank christinebernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meals in an Elegant Setting”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The chef, Anton, is outstanding. His meals are tasty to eat and beautiful to look at. There's an extensive wine list and service is impeccable!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

An absolute gem of a find - courtesy of trip advisor.
From canapés in the lounge to an excellent cheese selection at the end of the meal - everything was perfect.
We look forward to returning on our next visit to the Lake District.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had heard some stories that the food at the Grasmere Hotel was over rated and on the small portion side but I can confirm that in my view this is not true.

I think we were lucky on the day we visited because it was a lovely June evening and we were able to sit in the garden and enjoy pre dinner drinks whilst the beck trickled by, a lovely setting.

We were called into the restaurant and had chosen from the set menu and the food was excellent. Well cooked, excellently presented and whilst the portion certainly wasn't massive by any means all of the four people in our group enjoyed it immensely. The service was good and attentive when needed, the wine was reasonably priced and we retired to the sitting room for coffee and a bit more wine!

If you like enormous portions of staple type food then this is not for you but if you want to enjoy a relaxing evening in comfortable surroundings with excellent food then go for it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Noting the high rating on Tripadvisor my wife and I visited this hotel whilst on holiday. This was an excellent decision. Although not residents we were made to feel very welcome and the whole dining experience was an absolute pleasure. Four courses, every one a treat. Friendly helpful staff advised on choice of puddings and we look forward to more visits here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redstart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing