We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, friendly staff great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Only two days at this great hotel, breakfasts were great, service fast and room clean. the location is centre of the village and the village is in the centre of the Lake District. looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

A group of us stayed here one cold, snowy weekend in February. The staff are very efficient and welcoming. Rooms are comfortable (refurbished ones have more modern decor). We had the Taste of Cumbria menu on the Saturday night and it was superb! Hope to return! .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just returned from a fab stay at the Red Lion. The staff are so hard working, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We ate at the Lamb, which is the hotel's pub on the Friday night. The food was very good and very big. On the Saturday we ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. I had the venison which was lovely. I honestly can't fault the hotel for service, atmosphere and value. I was one of a group of about 50 celebrating a birthday and would definitely book this hotel again, for a group event or a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Spent two nights here with a KGB deal. Great because we were also able to take the dog for a small charge. Room was comfortable, nothing luxurious but bed comfy and plenty of pillows. All the staff were exceptionally polite and nothing was to much trouble. Particularly good service in the dining room, breakfast was very filling lots of choiceand served quickly. We booked the evening dinner and at £26 a head was excellent value, they have a fantastic chef. Location is perfect, its in the middle of the village and perfect base for a walking break. Car park is small but we found a space quite easily when we arrived and never moved it. We did not use the pool or sauna, but checked it out and it looked great. Will definately go back there sometime with the dog who was also very impressed, woof woof.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here on 14/02/2012
From reception staff (who were excellent) restaurant staff ( exceedingly attentive without being intrusive)
House keeping(couldn't have been better)
Nothing was too much trouble
I work for the corporate hospitality section at Liverpool football club and would love to have these people on my staff
Well done all. And thank you for a brilliant and most comfortable relaxed stay
Would and have recommended this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williebrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion for a week-end in February. The Hotel was full. This was our second visit and we enjoyed both. The Red Lion is a 3 star hotel well located in the middle of Grasmere with good walking from the Hotel. Prices are reasonable and the food good. The car park fills up quickly and then it's pay and display.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front. There are better rooms that are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

hey have a saying in the Red Lion Hotel "enter as strangers and leave as friends" and thats exactly what happened to us all those moons ago so here is our review.

Well we did it again...we went back to the Red Lion (even in all that snow it was pretty amazing) and had yet again another fantastic stay in this hotel in its beautiful surroundings.
After we booked in and unpacked in our room which was spotless, we went to the Lamb Inn adjacent to the hotel to have some well deserved lunch and we were greeted by familiar faces and instantly we felt like we had come home.
The food in the newly refurbished Lamb Inn was fabulous and the portions were enourmous and we were spoilt by the menu and the choice of wines and ales, but they had outdone themselves in the resturant later that evening as the food was fantastic and the service was top class from Klaudia and her team and after our evening meal we decanted to the lounge where we were treated to live entertainment.

Our room was lovely and cosy and cleaned every day and the spa bath was just so inviting after a day out walking around the lake or a day on the fells and the bed was big and so comfortable.
It was so refreshing to be able to have a laugh with the likes of Kyle, Tom and Jennifer and the rest of the staff as they are such a good team and they treat you as part of their family and thats why we keep going back.

Well done, look forward to seeing you soon

Room Tip: Dont book a room over the restaurant. Air conditioner very noisy during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £59 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing