We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. I had booked the room before reading the reviews on here so was quite concerned by some of the reviews and worried our anniversary would be spoilt.

However, I needn't of worried. The hotel room we were given was on the first floor, it was spacious and had a generous sized bathroom with SPA bath and shower. The pool, which was one of the reasons I booked this hotel, is a decent size and the Jacuzzi next to it is ideal to relax in after a busy day gorge walking ;)

The staff were pleasant, professional and very accommodating. We ate in the adjoining pub which was extremely pleasant, with a mix of walkers, locals and hotel guests. The meal was well made and I asked for it to be cooked in a certain way which they did! There is tons of choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast is served to you rather than a buffet option which means it's hot when you get it.

The only grumbles I had was that the TV in the room is tiny which made watching tv from the bed quite difficult, they need to double the screen size imo and the parking is a nightmare, we only managed to park at the hotel once, however there is parking around the village for free after 6pm and the church has parking spaces with an honesty box which is a couple of pounds if I remember correctly.

My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here at the Red Lion.

We share all feedback with staff and aim to challenge any problems guests may have.

I am very happy to hear that you will be returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    498
    192
    73
    37
See reviews for
254
886
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights being frequent visitors to Grasmere. Never having stayed here only had a drink at the bar before we didn't know what the rooms were like but unusually for us we booked before looking at Tripadvisor. Once booked I had a look and thought we had done the wrong thing loooking at the bad reviews. However I telephoned and asked for an upgraded room which they kindly gave us. The room was very good with a King sized bed and very comfy mattress. The room was in the eaves and quite large. The staff couldn't do enough for you so I was delighted. I would suggest therefore that only book if you can get a upgraded room.

Room Tip: We had room 305 and it is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a Best Western Hotel situated in the idilic location of the Village of Grasmere in the Lake district.
Reception facilities are good and staff helpful, room was adequate but bathroom very small and squashed. Bed seemed comfortable at first but trying to sleep on it was an experience, think mattress was just done and we both had poor nights sleeps on both occassions.
Leisure facilities are good with a pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room, all very nice although pool area is a little tired.

Breakfast was very good, staff great and could not fault it at all.
Eating in the "Lamb Inn", really the hotels own bar, was again nothing that special if honest, Ash Cottage across the road is a far better dining experience

Room Tip: ask for one with a new mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donsloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 for my birthday and had a truely brilliant time, we booked it via late rooms on the day we were due to travel and after making a quick phone call to them, we arrived to a gorgeous attic style room with views over the stunning countryside, the staff were so helpful and friendly and I even received chocolates on my birthday.
The hotel is set in a fantastic location, very central to the village with great walks for even beginners like ourselves, copies of various walks can be got from reception.
Food at breakfast was great quality and service was impeccable.
Overall a resounding birthday, made better by being in beautiful surrounding, with staff that went out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Call before you arrive and request one of there refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The location of this hotel is spot on. Grasmere is a lovely little village, lots of places to eat and drink without being over run by tourist.
The hotel itself is nothing flash and extremely basic but for somewhere to shower and sleep it fits the purpose. The rooms are big but dated, bathroom very small and pokey and shower has no shower curtain which annoys the hell out of me! TV is in a stupid place on the other side of the room so which TV from the bed is near impossible.
Breakfast was average but it's part of the package so you can't complain! Bed is only a double and hard as a rock.
Really, I am just being picky. On location alone the hotel is worth it - pool and steam room are a great plus!!
PS, my husband and I are 30 are we were the youngest in the hotel by a good 10+ years!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandkristyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for walkers. Inside the hotel our room was okay - decor was a bit dated & you could hear a fan/generator noise (from the pool I think) especially early morning. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but still had a jacuzzi bath in it which was good! The breakfast situation was disappointing though. Breakfast is between 8am-10am but they tell you if you want a relaxing breakfast to come down between 8am - 9am. Well, I'm sorry but who gets up early when they are on holiday??? We went down for breakfast at 9.30 and for two mornings had to sit there whilst members of staff walked past us like we were invisible. 10 minutes later I managed to catch the eye of a waitress & she came to take the order. This really isn't good enough for a hotel of this size - how on earth do they cope in the height of the season?? They should extend the breakfast time to 10.30 if they are struggling to cope! It's a shame they don't do room only as there are plenty of other places around the area for breakfast. Nice hotel but poor service at breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are probably quieter (away from generator/fan noise of the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PussInBoots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Grasmere is one of my favourite places in the lakes and this was a lovely hotel. Stayed for two nights and the hotel room was clean and spacious, even had a retractable washing line over the bathto dry off your walking clothes when the rain hits. I was there when the recent flood warnings but couldn't spoil my stay. Breakfast was very good and a good choice, a bit slow on the second morning as there was only one chef on but I was in no rush. Had dinner in the adjoining pub, the Lamb Inn on the first night which had good beer, typical pub food of good quality, little disappointed with the cheese and biscuits because they had smoked applewood and 2 cheeses with fruit in it. Just a personal preference in that for me cheese should not be spoilt by sticking fruit in it, no blue cheese which I love. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, good local knowlede and lots of maps of walks close by of all distances. One thing I would recommend is have something to eat over the road in the Ash Cottage hotel bar and restaurant, we ate there on the second night and the food and service was excellent and a nice wine selection. Will leave a separate review for that one.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing