We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Grasmere
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveller rating
824
553
203
82
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
553
203
82
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionclub roomcourtyard restaurantparking is limitedleisure facilitieslake districtgin and tonicpool and jacuzzilovely hotellambthird floorsmall balconylounge areaevening mealsister hotelnight breakshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,468 - 1,473 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion for two nights. The reception staff were very helpful And friendly.
The room was spacious clean and tidy and had everything we needed.
The breakfast was excellent and there was something for everyone on the menu. The location was Also excellent as a. Base to explore the beautiful Lakes.
The only negative was the poor service at the bar and the over cooked food Bugers we were served. This would certainly not stop us making a return visit.

Room Tip: Be alert to the fact that it is difficult to get food after 9pm
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Hotel is very nice and in a favourable location. You can easily get to Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside by a good bus service. On the minus side bathroom very small and with shower curtain that clin gs to you when showering!!! Waited over an hour for dinner in pub. Then when we did get it my burger was raw. They did refund this but felt due to wait and bad service should have refunded all meal. Service at breakfast on our first morning was just as bad. Hotel just need to get there service right and it would be the perfect place to stay in the lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

It’s great that you found the location of the hotel good for the needs of your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that were un-happy with your meal in the Lamb Inn. All our burgers are made freshly to order using 100% British beef, I am very sorry it was not cooked to your liking I will be sure to get staff to ask how the guest would like the burger cooked as we do get a lot of requests for it to be cooked rare.

I hope this does not stop a return visit and you stay with us again and once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed for two nights on a midweek break at the Red Lion in the centre of Grasmere inJuly. On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly receptionist who gave us directions to our room, and explained where breakfast was served and where we could eat in the evening if we so wished. Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi bath, though we didnt try it out! We had friends coming to meet us for dinner on our first night which we duly had in the Lion Inn attached to the hotel. The food was hot and tasty and no complaints from any of us. Breakfast was a buffet of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal etc. and a wide variety of choice for a hot breakfast to order, along with toast and tea or coffee. The dining room could have done witha bit of a refurb, with stains on the carpet, and if there was a complaint it was that there were not enough staff to clear away empty dishes from a very small table for two people; but the food was good and plentiful. After a long walk on our first morning, we went for a swim in the hotel pool which could definitely have done with being warmer. The jacuzzi was nice and warm though!

Overall, our stay was very enjoyable in a pleasant hotel in pleasant surroundings and we would have no hesitation in returning. I might add, however, that we went on a special "KGB deal" of £99 for two nights bed and breakfast which was very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us enjoying all aspects. We are committed to providing the best service and it is very rewarding for the team to hear such positive reviews.

We are currently in the process of refurbishment and have already done a lot of our rooms and the Lamb Inn. We are committed to refurbish other areas without any disruption to our guests.

It’s great to hear that you will be returning and behalf of all the team here at the Red Lion we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again thank you for taking your time to review us.

Kind Regards

Chris Copeland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We visited this hotel following the purchase of a KGB voucher and as such it was outstanding value for money. Reception procedures were speedy and efficient and our room was ideal for a two night stay. The lounge and conservatory were of a high standard and in my opinion as good as any you are likely to find in a three star hotel.
Breakfast was of a high standard and pleasantly served. The hotel is dog friendly and the staff make every effort to make ones stay enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.

It is very rewarding for the staff to get such positive feed-back. We strive to make each persons break one to remember and enjoyable.

We look forward to your return to Grasmere.

Once again thank you for taking your time to review us.

Kind Regards

Chris Copeland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. I had booked the room before reading the reviews on here so was quite concerned by some of the reviews and worried our anniversary would be spoilt.

However, I needn't of worried. The hotel room we were given was on the first floor, it was spacious and had a generous sized bathroom with SPA bath and shower. The pool, which was one of the reasons I booked this hotel, is a decent size and the Jacuzzi next to it is ideal to relax in after a busy day gorge walking ;)

The staff were pleasant, professional and very accommodating. We ate in the adjoining pub which was extremely pleasant, with a mix of walkers, locals and hotel guests. The meal was well made and I asked for it to be cooked in a certain way which they did! There is tons of choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast is served to you rather than a buffet option which means it's hot when you get it.

The only grumbles I had was that the TV in the room is tiny which made watching tv from the bed quite difficult, they need to double the screen size imo and the parking is a nightmare, we only managed to park at the hotel once, however there is parking around the village for free after 6pm and the church has parking spaces with an honesty box which is a couple of pounds if I remember correctly.

My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here at the Red Lion.

We share all feedback with staff and aim to challenge any problems guests may have.

I am very happy to hear that you will be returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews