We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in the calm of Grasmere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Everything you need in the calm of Grasmere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Red Lion is a lovely hotel offering great facilities in such a peaceful village surrounding. The lounges and bars are superb and the leisure facilities, including pool,sauna and gym are brilliant although, sadly not used as much as they perhaps should be. The only downside is the minimal car parking space and you need to ensure that you do not get blocked in, but ther are alternatives nearby-parking is at a premium in such a quaint village not designed for modern times.-You will enjoy the Red Lion.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    455
    169
    68
    34
See reviews for
237
821
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend staying at the red lion hotel which is set right in the middle of grasmere village.
Fantastic location - we walked every day right from the front doorstep - you could manage fine without a car just using the good local bus services.
Our double bedroom on the second floor was a bit on the cosy side with a bit of a bleak view over the roof of the swimming pool but the spa bath in the ensuite was very welcome after a long day walking.
Wi fi is nominally available free in all rooms but we found the signal unreliable and download speeds painfully slow - would be a real nuisance if you needed to stay in touch with the office while there.
We did not make use of the leisure club but could see others enjoying the facility - especially families with young children.
There is a spacious and comfortable lounge and bar for hotel residents - with tea and coffee on tap in the evening after dinner.
Breakfast in the restaurant is freshly cooked to order - so no dreadful dried up eggs and bacon from a luke warm buffet - a very welcome touch and waiting staff were all friendly and attentive.
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but did enjoy a meal in the bar of the adjoining Lamb Inn. There are plenty of other choices if you prefer dinner out in Grasmere or nearby Ambleside.
All in all a comfortable enough base for a weekend walking in the fantastic countryside all around you. Don't forget to pack your hiking boots and - given it's the Lake District - make sure you pack your waterproofs too!
Don't bother ordering the packed lunch service on offer from Reception - you are far better popping in to the Co-op in the village for anything you need.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank par64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

After 4.5hrs journey which should have taken 2hrs on the M6 Friday 10th August (M-way closed due to 2 accidents/vehicle breakdown), we arrived at the Red Lion with a cheery welcome and took advantage straight away of the swimming pool and leisure side there, all the hassle on the M-way before was soon forgotten. Our room was adequately furnished and the bonus was a balcony to walk out onto and look over the square and admire the scenery in Grasmere. We decided to eat in the Red Lion's restaurant. The venison was delicious and when our l0 year old daughter wanted a meal on the menu from the Lamb Inn which is attached to the Red Lion, it was no problem to provide it. Excellent service from all the restaurant staff (especially Zoltan). Most mains for evening meal in Grasmere hotels/restuarants are approx £l2 - £15, but all sounded excellent quality and variety. Our only gripe would be that after our venison meal, we still felt hungry (we are average, not big eaters) we were trying to watch our pennies as well as our weight and did not really want to have to order desserts, but needed to fill up. The gingerbread ice cream scrumptious. Later in the evening we visited Tweedies, lively wine bar. Grasmere is a very lovely quaint English village in contrast to Boweness on windermere which boasts its very beautiful lake. We will return back to the Red Lion, but next time we will visit for more than one night.

Room Tip: we liked overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and had good service from the time we entered to the time we left. All the staff were warm and friendly. A good choice of drinks in the bar ( Lamb Inn ) and the food in the restaurant ( breakfast and the evening meal ) was excellent. The bedroom was spacious, clean and tidy and overlooked the fells. We watched the cows being put out to grass from our window in the morning. The reception staff keep a photocopy of local walks which you can have for your own use . We thought this a great idea and did two walks during our time there. The only fault I could find is that the carpet in the restaurant was in need of a good clean, but it will not stop us from staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

just spent the weekend at the Red Lion Hotel Grasmere in the Lake district. The staff were excellent polite and helpful. The food was very good evening meal and breakfast. Very clean lovely room 217 good views. john &Tracy P

Room Tip: 217 good views of fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

No faults, great hotel and superb staff. We were looked after from arrival to departure and they catered for our pet dog superbly. Great beer available in the bar, great selection of food. Lovely confortable rooms and spiolt at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
838 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Another overnight stay here in a very pretty room overlooking the square. The hotel is located in the centre of the town - although there is parking outside you may need to park elsewhere in the village. There are plenty of walks nearby and we woke early one morning and did a circuit of Grasmere lake before breakfast. The breakfast was especially nice with excellent service. There is also an attached pub for evening meals. Be aware that although there is free wireless, you really have to be in the downstairs reception areas to get a signal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing