We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lion that roared greatness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley
Level Contributor
250 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Lion that roared greatness”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived early at the Hotel but were immediately upgraded to a suite which was ready. We had a look round Grasmere but as it was pouring with rain we went back to the Hotel for a swim.
The pool was nice but only had 2 chairs and a stool, however the water was cold and I used tge Jacuzi instead for a while. We then went into the SUna which was very good.
We had booked BB&D so went down to the restaurant for our evening meal. The service was excellent and tge as well best home made Tomato soup I have ever had. the furnishings in tge restaurant were very good and was very clean and tidy.
Breakfast was also excellent providing 2 soft poached eggs as I like them. All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    474
    179
    69
    35
See reviews for
242
846
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. The staff were attentive and pleasant, the room was comfortable (excellent bed), the hotel facilities were an added bonus and the evening meals were delicious and well presented. All in all the deal offered represented extremely good value for money. Only word of caution, the parking is limited so if you manage to get a space at the hotel leave your car there for the duration of your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

we stayed here for a couple of nights while our Son was doing a week long basketball camp in Barrow in Funess. Not wanting to cramp his style by being on the doorstep and not wanting to travel all the way back to Newcastle before we collected him.

It was our first visit to the Red Lion an we really enjoyed our 2 night stay. We ate in the Lamb Inn which was excellent value and fantastic menu.

the hotel room was spotlessly clean very comfortable and plenty of room. the Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always smiling.
Breakfast was excellent. The choice was amazing and the service fantastic and again with a smile (Not often given in English hotels) We will definably be back and will recommend to others. thank you to The Red Lion Staff perfect service 5*

Room Tip: 3rd floor over looking the quiet village street was fabulous. Even saw cows being driven down the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js002e9640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed with our 7 year old for two nights in mid August. Aside from very limited parking which means you generally have a long walk to the car, this has everything you would want of a solid mid range hotel. Range of food works well for different guests. Small swimming pool does the job well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Really helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast. The pool was fantastic on a very hot day (no one else used it!). The room we were in could have done with a bit of lick of paint but we did bring our dog with us and I guess these rooms get a lot of wear and tear. It was an uncharacteristically hot weekend for the Lakes and the room was too warm for a good sleep. I only realised when we left that the hotel could supply fans! A fantastic view from our window of the hills and a quiet location. Lots of walks - I really liked the Coffin trail which circles around Rydal. This was our second stay and it won't be our last.

Room Tip: The rooms to the right hand side (as you look at the front of the hotel) and over the pool area have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Lovely comfortable old hotel with very helpful staff. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a suite on the 2nd floor with a sitting room and a balcony. Unfortunately as we were only there for the one night we did not use the sitting room, but did sit out on the balcony in the morning and admired the views of the hills. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was excellent. Had a super stay here in the middle of beautiful Grasmere village with lovely walks right on the doorstep. We didn't use the swimming pool or eat in the restaurant but hope to the next time. We'd love to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twaauldyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Red Lion is a lovely hotel offering great facilities in such a peaceful village surrounding. The lounges and bars are superb and the leisure facilities, including pool,sauna and gym are brilliant although, sadly not used as much as they perhaps should be. The only downside is the minimal car parking space and you need to ensure that you do not get blocked in, but ther are alternatives nearby-parking is at a premium in such a quaint village not designed for modern times.-You will enjoy the Red Lion.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing