We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Had a two day break at the Red Lion great food great staff beautiful location parking is a bit of an issue but you must remember you are in a small village we will be back again in November for the Abba night

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed Sunday 9th September 2012, had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights but had to leave after one. Bed linen was grubby, damp stains on the walls particularly near the windows, carpet coming away from the walls, pubic hairs left in the bath from the previous occupier! But the worst was the breakfast which had a cooked wood louse on the mushroom. The mushroom was taken away by the waiter with a mumbled apology and we weren't even offered a replacement breakfast - needless to say the rest of the breakfast was left untouched! Definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I don't know where these other review people are staying - we just got back from 2 nights (Sept 12) in the Red Lion. Interior of hotel is very tired and therefore also looks dirty. Thick dust on aircon unit and also on fan provided. Room very stuffy even with window open full. Evening meal expensive microwaved pub food. Fly poured out of teapot and squashed spider in breakfast bowl stack. Black around the bath. Carpet did not reach skirting boards in some places. Taking my 2 children down to the pool area there were broken tiles laying on the steps and the pool area was grubby. Would not stay here again ever!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I was working in the area and so stayed in this hotel. It has a very nice swimming pool and is connected to a pub which was very handy.
The rooms are a little dated and small but to be honest it did not spoil anything as it was still a very nice hotel. The breakfast was very good and the food in the bar great this is one i could and would recomend to a freind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogut83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We arrived for our stay 27/08/12, we stayed in Room 215, the room was fantastic, very clean, plenty of space, beds were very comfortable, zipped dbl was king size, very high standard of house keeping could not fault at all, restaurant was superb, we only ate b/fast, however food presentation was 5 star, always hot, food was very tasty, and always cooked just right, you could clearly see it had been plated up by some one who could not only cook b/fast very well, but most importantly cared about what they were doing, decoration was stunning, it was a warm welcoming well designed room, and nice and bright.The restaurant manager and his team were a credit to the hotel, very prompt service, by very pleasant staff, wide awake, smiling, and very willing to give great service, it makes all the difference. Check in was great, once again very pleasant staff, best of all was the pool and gym & sauna, spotless, over the years we have stayed in lots of places in the area, we have family near by, and I have to say this place left them all standing. I myself have worked in hotels all my working life, and I know how much focus and commitment it takes to make a place a great place to stay,and the management & staff have been very successful at achieving this,they should be very proud, just to finish, not only do they have all the bits & pieces you would expect at your hotel, but they have that very special way of making guests feel very welcome, very relaxed, and like it says at reception, you arrive as a stranger, and leave as a friend, feeling very happy about were you have just stayed.
What a place I will be returning in the future looking forward to Staying in a stunning village, in the best hotel their is to stay in Grasmere

Room Tip: Rm 215 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff86337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Booked a double room last minute and paid 140 pounds for dinner bed and breakfast + 20 for the dog.The evening meal was excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were that the room needed an update and was a little tired. The bed was hard and the room was very hot even with both windows open. There is very limited parking...I would stay again as I thought it was very good value and is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived early at the Hotel but were immediately upgraded to a suite which was ready. We had a look round Grasmere but as it was pouring with rain we went back to the Hotel for a swim.
The pool was nice but only had 2 chairs and a stool, however the water was cold and I used tge Jacuzi instead for a while. We then went into the SUna which was very good.
We had booked BB&D so went down to the restaurant for our evening meal. The service was excellent and tge as well best home made Tomato soup I have ever had. the furnishings in tge restaurant were very good and was very clean and tidy.
Breakfast was also excellent providing 2 soft poached eggs as I like them. All in all I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
740 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £77 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing