We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab 2 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Grasmere
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fab 2 night break”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Just returned from a fabulous two night break.the double room we had on the 3rd floor was very cosy with exceptional views of the hills.the restaurant was really nice-delicious breakfasts and evening meals,with excellent service.there is a real warmth about this Hotel,from the coal effect fire in the reception,the christmas tree's and decoration's to the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff.It was a shame not to meet you Chris,but would you please pass on my thanks to Ashleigh,Meggan,your brother and Zoltan.will definately recommend and would love to return in the future.regards..Andy&Angela x

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Andy & Angela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Very sorry I missed you while you were here.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    481
    185
    70
    36
See reviews for
244
859
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We decided to hold our works Xmas Party this year in the GrAsmere Red Lion Hotel and I would like to say the staff done us proud!! Our check in was very fast and efficient( considering there was 36 of us), everyone passed comment on how beautiful and clean the rooms are, with stunning views of the snow covered fells. Not only did the staff provide our evening entertainment they put on an extra little afternoon treat 'Ready Steady Cook' this was just like the real TV show where 2 of the hotel chefs had a cook off and we had to vote. Well Done guys the food was amazing!!! Our evening meal was 4 courses all cooked to perfection!! The evening entertainment was a disco/ karaoke in which we sang and danced till the early hours!! You cannot beat this hotel for all your Xmas party needs,the staff are absolutely amazing and couldn't do enough for us - especially Ryan with his Gangnam style dance!! Thanks to all the staff and very Merry Xmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisemcguire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Denise,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very happy that you and your party had such a great time.

On behalf of myself and the team thank you for your kind words and we look forward to providing you and your company with many more happy memories.

Kind Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Just returned back from the red lion for my first Xmas party of this year - excellent food and excellent service especially from Chris and Adam.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and The hotel looked great with all the decorations. Will return again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidiheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Heidi

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.

On behalf of myself and all the staff at the Red Lion Thank you for kind words and we hop you have a wonderful Christmas & New Year!!

Kindest Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before so did not hesitate to book again. The hotel is very warm and friendly. When we checked in we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely with its own living room area, small balcony overlooking the back of the lake, jacuzzi bath and dressing gowns and slippers!! We also used the leisure facilities which was nice and relaxing. We didn't eat in the restaurant but some friends did and they were very impressed. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and hardworking and a credit to the hotel. At breakfast there was a variety of choice from cereals, croissants, continental and the full english was delicious. This was our second stay here as we really like Grasmere and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We have previously stayed in room 102 which is at the front of the hotel and this time we were in Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay so much and your comments are great.

On behalf of myself and the team we would like to wish you a very merry christmas and happy new year.

We look forward to your return.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked this stay via an online deal which was exceptional value. The room was lovely with great views of the hills and a fantastic whirlpool bath. The choices for breakfast were outstanding, service was excellent, staff were very pleasant. We chose to eat in the Lamb lounge had chicken the first night which was lovely, I had the Lamb Henry the second night which was fabulous and I would recommend it but ensure that you are hungry to do it justice.
We attempted a walk up to crinkle craggs and bow fell the second day but had to turn back after an hour and three quarters of battling against the rain and icy wind. We went for a swim on our return followed by a sauna which warmed us up nicely. The hotel was tastefully decorated for the festive season. I would definitely stay there again if the right deal was offered again not sure that I would pay the full price

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Geraldine & Ian,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very please that the bad weather did not spoil your stay and your comments are fantastic. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We returned to the Grasmere Red Lion for our Winter Break and stayed in our usual room which has ample space for us and our two border collies. As always, the welcome was excellent the staff efficient ,courteous and friendly. It was lovely to see that the restaurant staff were the same as last time with one new addition as they always enhance our stay with their cheerful greeting and friendly manner.The food was excellent,the room clean and comfortable and we stayed at the same time as the group of retired headteachers who have written a previous review,so had free entertainment thrown in as well.with an impromptu Guitar and singing session.....Great fun. We love the place and have already booked to go back. Only downside this time was a minor detail that the swinmming pool temperature was a little chilly and we love to swim after we have walked thedogs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogmadLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments.

It is very rewarding to hear that you have came back and already booked your next visit.

Thank you again for such a great review and we look forward to your return.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We booked the Red Lion via an online deal and spent a most delightful two days in late November in what was probably the wettest two days we have ever spent in the Lakes with flooded roads plus thunder and lightening putting out the tv. However this did not deter us from enjoying two great days. You can usually detemine a feel for the place when you check in and first impressions of your room etc From the receptionist who was most helpful to our very spacious room complete with an enormous bed everything was first class and very clean and tidy and a view, room 207, of the hills opposite-we did get a glimpse in between the rain and a fine view of Grasmere's main area. We chose to eat on both nights in the Lamb who have a small but tasty menu. We both opted for Chicken goujons on the first night, a bit dry but the second nights meal of Beef and Ale pie for me and a fish cake starter and cheese and biscuits for my wife made up for it. The only downside was no large bottles of Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc was available in the bar. However the good waiter obtained a bottle from the lounge bar costing £2 more! We were entertained on the first night by an Abba tribute night which was excellent. Only pity being that not many people knew about it.
The breakfasts are exceptional with a very wide choice catering for all needs and it would be hard for anyone not to find something of their choice. Having spent the second day driving to see the sights-we normally are walkers but a hip injury to my wife has so far prevented this. returning to a very well equipted gym and swimming pool rounded off the day. A hearty meal and a night chatting to fellow guests in the evening made our stay very enjoyable in a very comfy lounge with coffee readily available.
The staff were most helpful and courteous throughout and can recommend the Red Lion to anyone who is looking for that little bit extra but at a reasonable cost. Will be back next year when hopefully walking will be back on the menu. Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms at the front offer fine views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere R, General Manager at The Inn at Grasmere, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Your comments are great and we look forward to your return visit.

All the best for Christmas and New Year.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grasmere

Property: The Inn at Grasmere
Address: | Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#8 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful. As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our 1769 Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, The Glass House Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind, most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Best Western
Grasmere Red Lion
The Inn At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing